If you do not have an ice cream maker…

Hey ladies and gents–

Next week’s recipe is ice cream, and we have given the option to make a past TWD recipe if you do not have an ice cream maker. However, two very helpful links have been submitted on how to make ice cream without a maker. I thought I would link to them both here. If you feel like going old school, these are good resources on what ya need to do.

Making Ice Cream Without A Maker by David Lebovitz

How To: Make Ice Cream Without an Ice Cream Maker by the kitchn

I am looking forward to seeing results from both maker and non-maker methods!

13 thoughts on “If you do not have an ice cream maker…

  1. I don’t have an ice cream maker, but I did purchase one of the ice cream balls. My grandkids love it! It takes a little longer than the 10 minutes the instructions say (about 1/2 hour with a 3 year old and a 2 year old), but the ice cream is delicious and it’s something we can do together. Also, it doesn’t make enough for more than 4-5 servings, but it’s well worth the money.

  2. I got a brand new Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker on Craigslist for 15 bucks! It’s worth checking if you are looking for one but just want to find a deal.

    I also saw some ice cream makers and margarita machines at Ross today (I think it’s a seasonal summer thing) that were pretty reasonably priced.

    I can’t wait to see all the “old school” ice cream!

  3. I was at Trader Joe’s today, they had fresh blue berries in a 2 pound box, of course I bought them. So, I have already made the Blue Berry Ice Cream and all I can say is OMG! I doubled the recipe and glad I did; I use my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker all the time and it does a very good job. You won’t be dissapointed with this recipe; I am going to make it with raspberries this week!

  4. I’ll have to add some praise for the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. It’s really an awesome little machine, and if you have one of those infamous 20% off Bed Bath & Beyond coupons, you can get one for a very reasonable price.

  5. I made the ice cream last night using David’s method, and it worked perfectly! Don’t feel obligated in buying an ice cream maker because you don’t need one. I’m tempted to make more ice cream tonight.

  6. Does anyone have the Cuisinart Self Serve? I bought it on sale at Williams-Sonoma outlet, been testing it all summer and can’t get the hang of the soft serve aspect. I know yogurt takes about 12 minutes, but not very fluid. Any suggestions?

  7. Pingback: >TWD: Honey Peach Ice Cream « The Baking Bluefinger

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

