OSI: Susan of Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy

Have you seen Susan’s new and improved super-duper blog yet? If you haven’t been to Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy in a while, get yourself over there quick. She’s completely revamped her blog, I mean like totally! I thought her old blog was perfect, but this new design is absolutely gorgeous! It’s so full of, well, pink! The banner is playful, she’s got loads of new pages, and her photos are so crisp and clear, they dance right off the screen and onto your plate!

Susan says, “After fifteen months, it was finally my turn to host our little weekly TWD soiree.  The recipe I had chosen was Dorie’s Raspberry Blanc-Manger.” Then, the inconceivable happens! I’ll let her tell you all about what transpired, but suffice it to say, Susan was NOT a happy baker! Leave it to Susan though to save the day, and show us how success triumphs over disaster. The Raspberry Blanc-Manger is stunning, and I’m sure every bit as good as the photos. I hope your family knows how lucky they are to have you cooking and baking for them. Bravo! Bravo! Can I move in now?

Raspberry Blanc-Manger2

1.  When did you start baking?

Well, if you don’t count slice and bake cookies and boxed brownie mixes, I would have to say that I didn’t really start baking until after I created my blog.  Joining TWD definitely expanded my baking horizons!

2.  What is your favorite kitchen tool?

I’d have to say my Magimix food processor.  It has 3 different sized bowls for different sized jobs, and it can mix up a pie crust in no time flat!  I’m also really loving the nifty little cherry pitter that I received as a gift from Sur La Table a few months ago – just in time for cherry season!

Dorie's White-Out Cake
3.  Which TWD blog is your favorite?

No fair!  There are way too many great ones.  How could I pick just one favorite?

4.  What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Hmmm. That’s another tough one. I’d have to say it was a toss up between the Banana Cream Pie and the Caramel Crunch Bars.  I dream about those bars!

Caramel Crunch Bars
5.  What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

The Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler did not work out at all for me.  It was inedible!  Not sure what went wrong there.  Purely from a taste standpoint, the Cinnamon Squares were my least favorite recipe.

6.  Which recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

Well…the Raspberry Blanc-Manger.  That’s why I picked it!

Berry Coobler

7.  If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?

Paris!  No question about it.  It’s my favorite city in the world!

8. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?

Two things: I’d sing “La Traviata” at La Scala, and I’d write a best-selling novel.


Blueberry Ice Cream

9.  If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?

I love to travel! If I could have a superpower, I’d probably want to fly, so that I could go wherever I wanted without dealing with airport security.

10.  If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?

I’d turn off the phone and spend the day playing on the computer and doing all the little projects around my house that I never have time to get to.

Chocolate Pudding
11.  What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?

Hmmm.  I’ve eaten a lot of foods that many might find strange.  When I was a little girl, my Grandma used to make tripe, gizzards, snails and pig’s feet.  I ate them all and loved them! As a grown up, I’ve eaten turtle, eel, alligator, abalone, ostrich, elk and fish heads.

12.  What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?

That’s easy! A Thermomix!

French Yogurt Cake

13.  Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

Loyal, Creative and Perfectionist

14.  What spice do you use over and over again?

I love to use smoked paprika and cardamom, though not necessarily together.

Peach Ice Cream

15.  When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was three, I wanted to be a garbage man.  When I was four, I wanted to be Miss America.  When,I was five, I decided to be an opera singer.  I pretty much stuck with that choice from then on.

Lemon Tart

4 thoughts on “OSI: Susan of Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy

  1. I only recently fell into your web site and think it’s wonderful. You are now a “favourite”. The raspberry blanc manger is gorgeous and I must make it this weekend! Keep up the great work and love your photos! (Just hope my electricity goesn’t go out too).

  2. Pingback: Chez Us » TWD: Boysenberry Blanc Manger

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

