OSI: Lynne of Cafe LynnyLu

Cafe Lynnylu – Scrumptious Food Styled and Photographed by Lynne. Thanks to Lynne for choosing this weeks recipe, Dorie’s Vanilla Ice Cream. She makes it look so yummy with all her colored pots. What a colorful way to serve ice cream!

Lynne’s blog, Cafe LynnyLu, is a beautiful masterpiece. The background is black which shows off all her delicious photos, and her recipes are simply scrumptious. Lynne has been blogging since 2006, so she knows her stuff. Take some time this week and check her out….I mean her blog Cafe LynnyLu!

Summer Fruit Galette

1.  When did you start baking?
My first baking project was my grandmother’s date nut pound cake when I was around 12 years old. Amazing that it turned out because several baking projects later were complete disasters.

2.  What is your favorite kitchen tool?
Spatulas-all shapes and sizes and flexible plastic funnels with a variety of opening for filling different bottles, glasses, etc. The spatulas work well for getting all the batter and other mixtures out of the mixing bowls.

Scones


3.  Which TWD blog is your favorite?

There’s no way I can pick a favorite blog. I love to read some that really entertain me and some whose photos I love to look at. Everyone in the group has an individual talent I admire.

4.  What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?
Because I love anything lemon, the Florida pie was my favorite. But I also loved the French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze and the Summer Fruit Galette.

Florida Pie

5.  What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?
I didn’t see the thrill of the World Peace cookies.

6.  Which recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

I don’t remember all that’s been baked, but I would like to make the Tiramisu Cake and the Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake.  I became a member after the Homemade Marshmallows were featured, so that would have been a pick.

French Yogurt Cake
7.  If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?
I would live the summer months in Edinburgh, Scotland and would winter in Mustique, a posh island in the Grenadines.

8. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?
I would buy a house in the French countryside with a complete staff, have a vineyard with a winemaker on my property and have a gardener who would grow beautiful flowers and herbs in my garden.

Madelines

9.  If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?
I would love to be a time traveler, if it were physically possible. It would be cool to transport myself back in time to observe historical events.  Being in the midst of one of Henry VIII’s lavish banquets or Rome during the time of Julius Caesar.  Can you tell that I have seen The Tudors and Rome?

10.  If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?
I’d sit on the beach and read a book.

Lemon Custard

11.  What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?
Conch ceviche has to be the strangest food. While on a snorkeling trip in the  Turks and Caicos, our guides dove for conch as we swam around looking at the coral formations and the beautiful tropical fish.  Afterwards, they prepared the conch ceviche on our boat trip back to the dock. It was weird at first, but I loved it.

12.  What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?

I’m not sure about a certain tool, but I would love a complete outdoor kitchen.

Fig Cake

13.  Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.
That’s a tough one. Sometimes we don’t know ourselves.  I’m perceptive, reliable and patient (sometimes).

14.  What spice do you use over and over again?
I love Southwestern and Mexican foods so use cumin more than any other spice. I also include cumin in many of my spice rubs.

Chocolate Pudding

15.  When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Early on, I wanted to be a nurse, but that didn’t last very long.  Then I wanted to be a weather girl on television, but that didn’t happen either.

Rugelach

2 thoughts on “OSI: Lynne of Cafe LynnyLu

  1. What a beautiful collection of photos! It would be fun to experience a lavish banquet ala King Henry VIII, but I would want to make sure my time traveling skills were in perfect working order to be sure I could leave after the feast was over. I like our modern-day ways.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 458 other followers

