OSI – Garrett of Flavor of Vanilla

1

This week’s host is Garrett of Flavor of Vanilla.
He says in his bio, “Vanilla. It’s always my favorite flavor growing up, whether it was in ice cream, cookies, or cake. Other people argued that vanilla was too plain, but I never agreed. It has an underlying taste to it, it gets along with almost anything, and yet it can also stand out on itself. I’m hoping I can relate the same ideas to my cooking – creating something that isn’t flashy on the outside, but will still wow you when you bite into it, something that you will remember.”

Garrett has selected Split Level Pudding for this week’s TWD post.

Let’s all get to know a bit about him and then head over to his blog and show some TWD love!

***********************************************************************

2

Questions:

1. When did you start baking?

I rarely eat out, so I’ve been cooking ever since I moved out of the dorms in college (2005).  The whole baking thing is relatively new though – only since May of 2008.  Started my blog at the same time.

2. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Either an astronaut or a doctor.

3. What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Definitely the Chocolate-Banded Ice Cream Torte.  The French Chocolate Brownies were a close second.

3

4. What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

When I try a new technique, I’ll often get duds – my first being the Raspberry Cream Puff Ring.  I had never piped anything before, so when I piped out the choux, it was in a horrible shape.  The whole puff ring just looked bad.

5. What recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins.  I can’t wait for someone to pick the Dulce De Leche Duos, but I’ve already made that one on my own – people definitely need to try it!  It’s a favorite.

6. What one item in the kitchen could you never live without?

A bowl.  Pretty utilitarian there, haha.

4

7. Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

Social, earnest, forward-thinking.

8. What super-power would you most like to have, and why?

Regeneration, because if I could heal quickly, maybe I’d be less afraid of my bread knife.

9. If you had a day to yourself, no distractions, what would you do?

Drive around the city, sit at a cafe, read a book, and just relax.

5

10. If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?

I’ve always been fascinated with Paris, plus I’d be able to drive to the other nearby cities I’ve always wanted to see.

11. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?

Start a bakery/cafe/restaurant (two sides: one with the bakery and cafe, one with the restaurant, all under one name).

12. What is the meal and dessert you would choose as your very last?

The meal would be some high-quality sushi and sashimi.  Dessert would be a large slice of amaretto cake.  I was really tempted to put In & Out in there, but it just doesn’t beat out the sushi.


6

13. What is the “strangest” food you ever ate?

The first time I got ph, I ordered without knowing what was in it.  I told my friends to leave me in my naïveté until I was done with the meal.  I didn’t find out until later that I was eating intestine, tripe, tendon…all that good stuff.  Now that I’ve gotten over it, I’ll try anything at least once.  Whatever’s strange to me is just normal for other people.  Without that look on food, I’d never have found that beef tongue is fan-freakin’-tastic, and that pork belly can kick bacon’s butt any day.

14. What spice do you use over and over again?

Italian Seasoning – you can put that onto almost any meat and make it delicious.

15. Offer up one random, little known factoid about yourself.

I didn’t find out I don’t like biochemistry until my 4th year into a biochemistry degree.  I still graduated in biochemistry, but just do the chemistry part.

7

*********************************************************************

Note: I, (Jeannette @ The Whimsical Cupcake) will be heading the Q&A portion of TWD every week. IF YOU ARE AN OCTOBER HOST and you haven’t done so already: please send me your answers. Without your answers, I can’t post the nifty facts about you ;) That is all.

2 thoughts on “OSI – Garrett of Flavor of Vanilla

  1. Pingback: TWD – Split Level Pudding « The Whimsical Cupcake

  2. Pingback: Split Level Pudding « LA's In The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

