OSI: Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table

This week’s host is Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table.
In her bio, she describers herself as “a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a teacher, a friend, and a carpooling wizard.” She is such a sweet woman but be sure to pull out your best grammar when writing to her or she will just correct your mistakes ;)

Kayte has selected Allspice Crumb Muffins for this week’s TWD post.

Let’s all get to know a bit about her and then head over to her blog and show some TWD love!

1

***********************************************************************

Questions:

1. When did you begin baking?

I remember my grandmothers giving me bits of dough so that I could make a little pie or my own cinnamon roll as a child, but I didn’t really start baking until I started with Tuesdays with Dorie.  I joined because I wanted to learn how to bake something other than chocolate chip cookies, cupcakes (from a box mix), brownies (from a box mix), and apple pie.  It worked:  I can now bake more things than previously listed.

2. When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was a child I wanted to be nun who taught school or who was the librarian at a school.

3. What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Absolute favorite:  Creamiest Lime Cream Merin gue Pie.  I made the mistake of making a small version (7″ – half the regular size) as I thought my guys wouldn’t really care for it as they love chocolate weeks at TWD.  Big Mistake.  I got one teeny tiny sliver of that pie and they ate the rest in one sitting.  I need to make it again and not tell them.

2

4. What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

Rice pudding, not because the recipe was a failure, but because we don’t like sweet rice.  I made it anyway thinking maybe some miracle would occur.  It didn’t.

5. What recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

The Translucent Maple Tuiles, pp. 173-175 (I was going to pick them, but I didn’t think they would be very popular, and I hate it when people frown at me!)  I picked the Allspice Crumb Muffins because they were easy, the ingredients were readily available without needing a run to the store possibly, they seemed inexpensive, they sounded seasonal, and they didn’t require messing up the entire kitchen with tons of dishes/pots/pans/bowls/utensils, etc.  How did I do?  I’m thinking there are lots of smiles right now.

6. What one item in the kitchen could you never live without?

My taste tester, Matt (17 year old son) because I don’t like chocolate and he is willing to taste test all chocolate items for me.  Oh, you mean a tool:  my metal bench scraper as I use it every single day for tons of things.

3

7. Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

“Compulsive, Ordinary, Bookish” were my thoughts, but Nancy at The Dogs Eat the Crumbs thought I should list “Optimistic, Curious, Enthusiastic,” and I liked the sound of those, so let’s go with those.  And, then, Cathy at The Tortefeasor chimed in with “Kind, Fun, Compassionate, Friendly, ChocolateHater, LemonLover,” and I am thinking I am soun ding even more interesting and even I was beginning to like me, so let’s go with all of those and maybe there is a part of me in there somewhere.

8. What super-power would you most like to have, and why?

To go back in time and correct every single mistake I have ever made.

9. If you had a day to yourself, no distractions, what would you do?

Read historical fare.  This will surprise no one who knows me.

4

10. If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?

Ravenna, Italy.

11. If you knew could you try anything, and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?

I would love to visit every museum in the world.

12. What meal and dessert would you choose to be your very last?

Meal would be French Onion Soup and a really really good grilled cheese sandwich.  Dessert would be Graham Cracker Pie made by my Grandma Ohl.

5

13. What is the “strangest” food you ever eaten?

Cow tongue.  I have no idea what possessed me, and am fairly confident it will not be possessing me again.

14. What spice do you use over and over again?

Nutmeg.

15. Offer up one random, little known factoid about yourself.

I cannot parallel park.

6

*********************************************************************

Note: I, (Jeannette @ The Whimsical Cupcake) will be heading the Q&A portion of TWD every week. IF YOU ARE AN OCTOBER HOST and you haven’t done so already: please send me your answers. Without your answers, I can’t post the nifty facts about you ;) That is all.

8 thoughts on “OSI: Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table

  1. I love the tool being your 17 year old son as a taste tester. Sounds like the perfect kitchen tool to me. The cow tongue would be rough and I have an adopted Grandma that makes this quite often. Very disturbing walking into her kitchen and seeing this HUGE tongue flopped on a baking tray. At least you can say you tried it =).

  2. New to this site but I love the idea and would like to join in.

    Can you please tell me what the cookie/pastry is after Q&A #15? Looks marvelous.

    Thank you

  3. Kayte, you’re one of the nicest bloggers I know. Although I only know you virtually… I feel like you are an honest, vibrant, truly positive person.

    Had I known you would correct my English though, I’m not sure I’d write so often and so much! Perhaps we could do this in French, in the future??? lol

    I’d love to meet you in person and have a cup of joe with a piece of that wonderful lime meringue pie you are going to make again (wink! wink!) …and chat ourselves away!

    Stay cool Kayte, you are the best!

  4. I’m 60 years old and bake almost daily. When people ask me when I started baking I, too, remember vividly standing on a kitchen chair next to my grandma and rolling out pie dough with my tiny rolling pin. I would scrunch it up and start all over again. Sometimes we would shake cinnamon and sugar on it and sometimes a dab of jelly. My grandpa always made it seem like his special treat to eat my tiny tart or pie. I know that’s where my love of baking began.

    We should all make a point of sharing our love of baking with little ones because you never know what seeds you might be planting for the future.

Leave a Reply

