Updating..

I spent 4 hours a couple weeks ago cleaning out the blogroll. The bloggers who joined in the past 30 days have been added. The blogroll on the main page, as well as the Bakers page, are now up to date.  I am working on getting the information to update bloglines.

If you should be on the blogroll and are not, please check your email. There were a few blogs I didnt have the URLs for. Also, if there are any changes I missed, please leave a comment and I will fix it.

The next ‘clean house’ will be in April. I am going to do my very best to check every blog every 2 months.

Lastly, I have gotten a ton of negative feedback for the way I have run this group. If there is one thing I can do, its call myself out. I have been a very passive leader. Frankly, I just haven’t had the time to dedicate to the maintaining of this site and its members the past year. I have flown by the seat of my pants with this group because I never intended to run a group. It was not a well thought out process, it is something that fell in my lap. And its wonderful, do not think for a second I am complaining. I am not. However, I apologize. I apologize to those who felt singled out, wronged and rejected. I apologize to those who think I should be removed from the blog myself for lack of participation. You are right. I should be. But, I am the founder of the group, and for every hour I spend maintaining, I could be baking and updating my own blog. I let things slide so long because I was struggling to keep up and did not want to be a hypocrite. With all that said, I am going to do my best here on out to keep things tidy and fair. So, please stop with the hateful emails. I am waving my white flag.

Thanks! Bake on!

59 thoughts on “Updating..

  1. WHO SENT YOU HATE EMAILS?? I have a stiletto with their name on it. You just say the word.

    The haters have no idea how much time it takes to run a group of 400+. It’s easy to hate when you are ignorant. I’m sorry LW. You do not deserve anything but respect as our fearless leader and fellow baker. Me love you long time. I promise you. For every hater you have 100 friends. xo

    Come on TWD! Show LW your love. Sounds like she needs to know we appreciate EVERYTHING she does to keep us together.

  2. I can’t imagine the time and effort it takes to maintain a group of 400. 400 demanding bakers no less! :) Laurie, don’t be so hard on yourself – it’s been such a successful club! There’s bound to be a stray disgruntled individual here and there. You deserve more than a pat on the back – more like 400 pats.

  3. I have a friend who manages a website, and I have a pretty clear idea of what it takes. LW, you’re doing fine. Why else would so many people be clamoring to join in?

  4. Don’t let the haters of the world get you down. You have done a fine job in my opinion. All’s I can say is Thank you for all of your hard work with our baking group!

  5. Thank you for all the hard work you do. It’s really easy for people to throw stones and I’m sorry you’ve gotten so much negative feedback. I love being a member of this group and I’m so glad you founded it. Thank you again!

  6. Whoever is sending you the emails doesn’t understand how hard you work to keep the site like this. You’re doing so much already! Thanks for everything you do

  7. Laurie,

    Thanks so much for all your hard work–I can barely maintain my own little blog! I’ve seen some of the postings here, so I can only imagine the emails you get.
    :(
    I think you’re much nicer than me, because I wouldn’t accept people who send nasty emails to be part of YOUR group.

    Looking forward to lots more TWD!

    mary

  8. Thank you so much for all of your hard work, commitment and quick response to concerns. Some folks seem to have left out the “sweetness” in their baking. Keep up the good work. You are appreciated. lola

  9. Laurie, the people who appreciate you far outnumber those who don’t! I wish I could get to all the members’ blogs every week and that seems impossible because this is such a huge group. Be sure to take some time to enjoy baking and blogging for yourself! The negative people can feel free to drop out and start their own group.

  10. I’m disgusted that people are sending you negative feedback. Ugh, I don’t even know what else to say. Being part of this group (or any group) is a privilege, not a right. This is not your job; this is not even something you asked or planned for. If people aren’t happy with the way this group is run, they can form their own group. I’ve been in TWD for 2 years, and I’ve never been anything but happy with how it’s run. Really, what more do I need other than a list of recipes and one post per week where we discuss the results?

  11. Another thing, Laurie – if you’d like help with some of the basic upkeep for the group, please let us know. I know I’d be willing to spent some time making your life easier and the group run smoother, and I’m sure I’m not the only one. There’s no reason you need to do it all yourself (unless you’d like to, which, being a bit of a control freak myself, I can totally understand).

  12. I think you’ve done a great job. When I emailed you about being left off the rotation you handled it immediately and graciously. Hosting last week was awesome! I have a hard enough time keeping up with with my own blog, let alone handling 400 others. Be proud of what you’ve accomplished.

  13. I’m appalled to hear that you have been getting hate mail! There would be no TWD if not for you and all your hard work, and I appreciate it. I couldn’t do what you do.

    I know I have been one of the lax ones about posting and commenting lately. Frankly, due to time and budgetary constraints, I just haven’t been able to keep up the way I used to. If that makes some people mad, so be it. It’s my life, my schedule and my money. I have to keep my priorities straight. But, I still value and enjoy being a part of this group. If everyone did their own thing and stopped worrying about what everyone else was or wasn’t doing, the world would be a better (and calmer) place.

    To all of the haters: Walk a mile in Laurie’s or anyone else’s shoes before you start judging. Better yet, don’t judge at all. “Judge not, lest ye be judged.”

  14. Hate mail? Really???

    I can’t imagine what it would take to sit down and right an email to someone because you thought they weren’t running a BAKING BLOG GROUP right. I’m sure they think they could do it better. But guess what? They didn’t, did they?

    Sorry. This sort of thing drives me bonkers.

    I think you’re doing a great job and at the end of the day, it’s just a fun thing we’re all doing together. I don’t check how many times you – or anyone else – is baking. I’m having too good of a time baking my own things. Frankly, I wouldn’t even have to be on the blogroll to bake – and for a while I wasn’t. I baked anyway, because THAT’S WHAT IT’S ABOUT. BAKING!

    /rant

  15. I can’t believe people would send you hate e-mail! That’s just horrible considering you are the one who came up with this great baking group idea and are the one who keeps it all running smoothly. Those people shouldn’t even be in the group if they can’t be nice. Thank you for all you do Laurie! We appreciate you!

  16. People who belong or would like to have a part in Tuesdays with Dorie should not be the type who would even think about sending nasty e-mails. It goes against everything this group is. Which, from what I’ve seen, is supportive, kind, funny, and intelligent.

    Your work is so appreciated. I’m sorry not everyone realizes how much you put into this site. I know I can’t thank you enough so please don’t ever feel discouraged by the few who can’t see how hard it is to maintain such a large group.

    Thanks for all that you do to keep this place as cool as it is!

  17. Sorry you received hate mails Laurie! You know we all love you :) HUGS I’ve said it before, and will say it again, I’m sure, myself included, that many of us would be more than willing to help out. So don’t be bashful if you need a helping hand.

  18. EW!!! I can’t believe people are sending mean emails. Clearly, they suck.

    You’re doing a fine job with the site and the group. It’s supposed to be light-hearted and fun, people. Nothing to be taken that seriously!!!

    PS – Passover is at the end of this month, so there might be some skipped recipes w/some of the bakers!

  19. Sorry you have had to deal with this. This is a hobby, not your job, and people need to understand that! I’ve never been upset at anything for TWD and I’ve been around for over 2 years. I enjoy this group and I’m glad you do what you do!

  20. I’m appalled that you’re getting hate mail! You didn’t mean for this to become a huge Internet blogging event, this was YOUR idea. I’m just grateful that you’re letting all of us tag along. As I mentioned before, TWD has changed my life, and I have you to thank for that. Maybe one of the rules needs to be for people to be civil to the leader. I’m with Bridget, if you need help with anything, I’d love to pitch in.

  21. I am sorry to hear that there are some out there that would send hate mail to you. You are doing a fabulous job of trying to keep up with all the bakers, posting the P & Q’s every week, posting the recipes. If some are that dissatisfied with you they should find another group to bake with. I am grateful for all that you do!

  22. Ugh, hate mail? Mean people suck.

    Laurie, thank you so much for all that you do with this group. I’ll just put a big ditto on all of the previous comments. I want to add, too, that for the members of this group, I feel like we’re so fortunate that you even thought to start TWD. Thank you for your hard work, kindness, and understanding.

  23. It makes me sad that anyone would send hateful emails to you. I cannot imagine how difficult and time consuming it must be to run TWD. This is an amazing group and I am so grateful for all the work you do to maintain it. Booooooo to the haters!
    Thanks again for all that you do LW. You rock!

  24. I’m just adding to what everyone else has to say here. I can not believe that people actually sent you notes about your lack of participation. I can not even imagine what it takes to run a group you never intended to start along with everything else that life throws at you every day.

    I love this group and I’m grateful for the chance to be a part of it. Keep up the EXCELLENT work, Laurie!

  25. I agree with everything that was said. It is really sad that people have gone so far as to send you hate email. This group is supposed to be fun. This is not your job. You don’t get paid for maintaing the group and I am sure it takes up a lot of your time. I think most people would agree that gives you a pass on not baking every single week. I think what you are doing is awesome. Thanks for all your hard work! I’ve only been a member for a few months but it has been a blast so far. :) From what I’ve seen you have been nothing but kind and helpful. I had a really difficult month last month and was not able to participate, but I can’t wait to get back on track. I really appreciated your understanding. I love being part of the group and I appreciate all your hard work!

  26. That is terrible Laurie. You are doing an amazing job here and I can’t understand how anyone could justify criticizing you in any way. Ignore the hate mail and don’t let it get you down, you are a wonderful person and I for one admire you for the way you cope with everything.

  27. Hi Laurie………here’s my URL. It’s nothing fancy, as I’m still learning, so bear with me! :) I’m looking forward to being part of the group! I can only imagine how much time it must take to manage this whole thing, so kudos to you for putting forth the continued effort!

  28. I am in agreement with everyone else.

    Those that send hate mail are just mean and cowardly.

    If they are that upset, then they can leave, and please…don’t let the door hit you on the way out…Because I have another stiletto at the ready!

  29. I echo everyone else – I’m so surprised to hear about the hate mail. I understand negative feedback bc it helps make the group better, but it’s need to be done in a nice way, not a oh you’re so horrible way. You are not horrible. Sure, maybe you do “slack” on following the rules, but guess what? You have all the maintenance work to focus on, and the members don’t, so I say it evens out. Things happen and if they feel “oh so negative” about the group, then why are they sticking around?

  30. It’s insane that anyone would send you hate email. They should try running a group this size AND baking along AND having a life outside of this, and then maybe they could have permission to be critical. Until then? Just shush, people.

    I think you’ve been doing a fabulous job. I know I couldn’t have done it.

  31. As the founder of this group, you’ve certainly done one heck of a job growing it to 400+ members that we have today. We all know LIFE takes over sometimes and should cut everyone some slack. After all, this is supposed to be fun and not added stress!
    Laurie, thanks for all you’ve done. We support you!

  32. Hi! I have everything sitting on my counter to make the Chocolate Malted Whopper Drops, p. 85. However, the book does not have an oven temperature listed in the “Getting Ready” section. I tried to go to Dorie’s site and see if I could locate a contact email or corrections to the book, Baking From My Home to Yours. Next I tried your site because I have followed along to see what you are making each week. I saw in your completed recipes section that Sept 9 you list the CMWD’s. Could you help me to find the blog regarding you all making this cookie so I can find out what temp to use? Thanks for any help!

  33. Lauire you are doing a great job. This is a fun group.
    If anyone is so unhappy that they need to send hate mail they should resign from the group.
    Mimi

  34. Pfft. Screw them. You are teh awesome, and we all know it. I’ve loved baking with you the past two (!) years (!) and plan on doing so for at least the next two :)

  35. OMG I want to cry thinking about YOU, wonderful Laurie, getting hate mail! I love being a part of this group and I think you work so hard and do such an outstanding job! Keep up the phenomenal work!! YOU ROCK!

  36. Wow, I’m really surprised that people would be criticizing the way the group is being run. I love TWD! I think there might, unfortunately, always be a negative nancy. *sigh*

    TWD still rocks and is the greatest thing since Easy Bake!

  37. Thank you so much for all you do! I am so appreciative that you started this group and all that I have learned the past year and a half. If you need any help with any part of the site, even just replying to rude emails, please don’t hesitate to ask! I would be more than happy to help out.

  38. I love this group Laurie and you are doing great! Sorry about the junk you get, that’s too bad people can’t appreciate a good thing and all your efforts. Thanks for all you do- it’s wonderful to bake along!

  39. I just have to ditto what they’ve all said. How hateful of them to send you hate mail! This is group not your paying job, you spend your free time working on this so we can all participate together. It’s not easy keeping up a blog let a lone a group, so my hats off to you Laurie! I appreciate your hard work and enjoy being here. (((HUGS)))

    Bake on TWD fans! =)

  40. Who do these people think they are to send you hate mail?! Certainly not the type of folks we want to bake with. Get to steppin’, haters. :P

    THANK YOU for starting TWD and doing such a fabulous job of maintaining our group. I’ve had a lot of fun and learned so much from this awesome group. I honestly don’t know how you do it all. I’d be happy to lend a hand if you ever need anything.

    Happy baking, my fellow TWDers! :)

  41. You do not deserve the hate emails. You’ve been incredibly reasonable and responsive. When I’ve needed some slack because of family reasons, you gave it to me when I contacted you. How is that bad?

  42. Unbelievable. What’s the deal with those people? The Rules are clearly stated. Personally speaking, I’ve missed more than my fair share of TWD lately because of my new job. I don’t want to cry you a river, that’s just life for me now. I think it’s super generous of Laurie to allow for some slack and awfully kind of her to put the host at the end of the rotation instead of booting the host out. Even if I did get booted out, it’s nothing personal folks. Rules are rules. And I’d still bake along anyways! Thanks to Laurie I’ve created my own blog and met some really fantastic TWDers! (Not in person, but wouldn’t that be awesome?) Thank you so much Laurie! It’s definitely good to be the queen and you wear your crown well!

  43. I can’t believe you got hate mail! You do a great job and honestly, I can’t imagine the haters would be so eager to take on the time and responsibility of running this group–for free no less. I imagine it’s often a thankless task but please know that I, for one, am VERY GRATEFUL for all that you do.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

