P & Q Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

Mmmmm, chocolate.  Mmmmmm.

17 thoughts on “P & Q Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

  1. Just finished making these. I would highly recommend cutting down on the butter. I let the butter/chocolate mixture cool to ensure that it wouldn’t separate. Once I added the other ingredients, I found a chocolate liquid rising up on the sided of the bowl around the dough. It has a slightly greasy feel, so I’m guessing butter.

    • I found that you *really* needed to use a whisk for that part. With a whisk, you can incorporate everything so the butter doesn’t seem to separate out. The rest of the steps can be done with a spatula or spoon. And in the end, they weren’t overly buttery or greasy (and this is coming from someone who doesn’t even like the butteriness of shortbread!).

      • I didn’t use a whisk for any part of it, which is maybe why I had some fat separation in the dough, and then some spreading around the edges of the cookies in the oven. Still, I just ate one for breakfast, and it was really really good, like a really chewy brownie.

  2. I didn’t expect much from these but they turned out to be fantastic. They had a rich chocolate taste.

    My problem was that the oatmeal did not mix in well and the cookie looks like a chocolate nut cookie with the oatmeal popping out.

  3. I just made these and they turned out great! Be sure to follow the exact measurement of the cookie size..these babies spread. There a little bit greasy when you cook them. I use parchement paper, it helped keep the cleanup easy.
    They taste sooo good!!

  4. I could not stop eating the dough or the cookies!

    My dough was a little hard to handle at first. The first batch in the oven spread a lot. But the others seemed better after having sat for a little bit.

  5. I decided to take the easy way out and made these in bar form. I made 1/2 batch and baked them in a round 8″ pan (ungreased). I added maybe 2 tablespoons extra flour (before I decided to make them into bars I was worried about them spreading so added a little more flour). I also used the hand mixer to mix in the eggs and the flour some.

    They were AWESOME!! Seriously.

    I also left out the cinnamon since I don’t like cinnamon with chocolate for the most part.

  6. Just baked these cookies last night. They were yummy. But I don’t know if I did something wrong but my cookie dough was more like cake batter… very soft and somewhat runny. The cookies spread like crazy during baking, and at the 12 minute baking time they came out a little crisp and singed around the edges.

    For the second batch I chilled the dough till it hardened and only baked them for 10 minutes. They came out perfect. Nice domed cookies with very little spreading, crunchy outside with soft, chewy middle. Perfection.

    • doh! wish I had read this before I made mine… I skimmed the other responses and was in a rush so I didn’t finish reading your comment. I ended up with cookies that were like the ones from your first batch…. would have loved ones that were “perfection” :) *sigh*

  7. Pingback: Tuesdays With Dorie – Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

