TWD December Hosts. Sigh.

I’m so excited and sad all at the same time.  I’m posting now so everyone can budget time, ingredients, and oven space.  Again, we are doubling up for a couple of the weeks.  I can’t believe this is my last host post!

Without further ado:

December 6, 2011 – Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Honey Almond Fig Tart on page 373 AND/OR Nicole of Bakeologie chose Earl Grey Madeleines on page 169.

December 13, 2011 – Laurie of Slush chose Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream 433 on page AND/OR Julie of Someone’s in the Kitchen chose Puffed Double Plum Tart on page 378.

December 20, 2011 – REWIND

December 27, 2001 – Dorie herself chose Kids’ Thumbprints on page 163.

That’s it.  Those are the final five recipes in the book.  Sigh.

19 thoughts on “TWD December Hosts. Sigh.

  1. When I think back on all the recipes these past years, all the friends, all the baking and commenting and eating of the goods, always factoring (or not) TWD into my weekly schedule…it feels like there will be a little unfilled place inside me when it all ends. Even with the new group undertaking, this one sort of set the standard, had an originality to it, and taught us all how to bake and expand our horizons like nothing I had ever done prior to this. Thanks to all who participated, making this such an enjoyable adventure. And, of course, thanks to Dorie herself whose wonderful Baking From My Home to Yours made it all possible with this huge tome of amazingly well-written and delicious recipes. My family and I will be forever grateful!

  2. aw, about to shed a tear (or two) over here. I can’t say it any better than Kayte, it’s been an amazing experience for 3.5 years. I plan to bake through the recipes chosen before I joined – so I will have baked the entire book. A first! And probably a last, lol!

  3. I know, it doesn’t seem like that long ago that it seemed like forever until we finished. Wow.

    I agree, I’ve learned so much about baking. Now when I come across a new recipe, I think, “oh, no big deal… been there, done that”. I’m especially glad to have overcome my fear of yeasted goods and anything with a pie crust. I also feel fortunate to have been introduced to so many delicious treats I’d never even heard of (blanc manger comes to mind). Lastly, I’m so grateful to Dorie and everyone that has been instrumental behind the scenes at TWD.

  4. It has been a real learning experience for me as I am not a professional baker. I know some of you are and some in the same boat as me. I have just enjoyed getting to know everyone in this group and loved the support everyone gave to each other. I think that is what made this group work so well when others have failed. I’ve been in for three years and it will, like Kayte said, be strange not to have to check and see what delicious something is scheduled for us to make. Thank you all for encouraging me!

  5. Dorie I made the bittersweet brownies and they were to die for. I think it wins best recipe of 2011 so far. Anybody else here agree?

  6. Congratulations to everyone who is still baking and posting every week. I fell off the wagon about a year ago, swallowed up by life and my business, I just wasn’t able to keep up with the regular posts. I miss baking along with everyone and wish I had the time to stop by and read your posts each week. It was so much fun for the 2+ years that I did participate. Tuesday’s with Dorie inspired me to start my blog and I’m forever thankful for the inspiration and love all the wonderful bloggers I’ve gotten to know through this group. Bake on everyone & finish the book!

  7. Dear TWD Friends and Bakers.

    I want you all to know that as of today, I have officially finished every single recipe in the book! It has been a true joy. I thank you all, especially Laurie for starting the fun. And most of all to Dorie, thank you for teaching me to bake. I can’t wait to finishing posting them all!

    Your blogging friend,
    Becky of Project Domestication

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

