Friendly Reminder

I realize we have a lot of new folks to the group this go round. So, I thought I should give a friendly reminder that we post only on scheduled Tuesdays. This month, TWD posts should only be posted on March 6th and March 20th. If you post after the scheduled date, no worries. However, no one should be posting before the scheduled date. The point of this group is to bake and post together.

If you have questions about this rule, please ask them below.

Thanks and Bake on!

28 thoughts on “Friendly Reminder

  1. New to the group! Just want to clarify that the difference between posting normally vs posting as a host (I’m host on the 20th) is that I include the recipe in my post. Is there anything else I’m responsible for?

    Excited to see everyones rugelach!

    Happy baking all!!

  2. On of the greatest advantages of forms of electronic communication, like blogs, is that one can work around one’s schedule. While I can appreciate posting around the deadline and I can appreciate that the hosts should post then as well as activate the LYL blog space, it seems like a community of bakers should welcome postings when they occur.

    • I understand what you are saying. However, the name of the group is Tuesdays with Dorie for a reason. We all post together, on Tuesdays, as a community. All blogs allow the blogger to write a post and set a date for publication. It is a simple thing to do. I do not consider this an inconvenience as it is one of the only rules the group has.

      Again, everyone is more than welcome to post after the scheduled date. If you are running behind, or procrastinating like I often do, please post late.

  3. I teach college courses online and am experienced with creating virtual communities. One of the great features about them is that they can operate asynchronously and that makes them attractive to people like me who have busy schedules (and who isn’t one of these?) . It doesn’t matter to me what day a person posts on a blog that is supposed to be fun, to encourage creativity, and to welcome members.

    • Jules and I have been running this group now for over 4 years. I do consider it to be a fun group that greatly encourages creativity. All members have been asked to read the rules of the group before joining, of which there are very few. When joining, members agree to the rules. A gentle reminder, is just that, a reminder. We now have over 400 members. I would say we are a very welcoming group.

    • This isn’t an online course. This is a group that posts food posts every TUESDAY.
      I’m not doing this round as my schedule does not allow it.
      If you have a busy schedule either don’t participate that week or do it ahead of time and have it set to post on you guessed it TUESDAY. There aren’t a ton of rule to this group, but post on Tuesday’s is one of them. Like LW said, you can post after the date just don’t post before it.

  4. The exciting part about participating in a group like this is tri-fold.
    1. You have an excuse to bake once every two weeks!
    2. Posting on a designated day makes waiting to see how others did with the same recipe and share your success or failure kind of like Christmas morning, an exciting thing to look forward to! Who likes to ruin the magic of Christmas??
    3. As we all bake together and post together, we become a strong, tight-knit close group – a community you can share your woes with and encourage one another to push through challenges and celebrate triumphs…

    If you don’t like it, or dont want to participate fully, just write your blog and don’t ruin it for the rest of us. Please!

    This is an amazing community and so much fun, I hope you all stay with us and wait to post on Tuesdays!

  5. I’m asking out of curiosity, not to be snarky: don’t most blog platforms have scheduling options? I’m only familiar with WordPress, Blogger and Tumblr, each of which allow you to write a post now and schedule it for future publication to your blog. Any folks using platforms that don’t allow scheduling?

    • All of the platforms that we’ve looked at/worked with have an option for future date posting. I do it just about every week, because otherwise it’s Tuesday at 11:00 pm and I’m still typing. ;-)

      • LOL! Since I usually create posts in clusters, nothing would ever appear on my blog if I had to remember to go and click the Publish button on the right day. :)

    • No Ma’am. You are good to go. Jules will be posting the ‘Leave your Link’ or LYL post and once that is up, you can leave a link to your post for everyone to see.

  6. Hi fellow bakers!

    Not sure if it’s okay to post this here, so I understand it it get’s deleted. But, I figure since most of us here are probably fans of Dorie you might appreciate knowing that there is a book bundle on Amazon which includes both, Around My French Table and Baking: From My Home to Yours for, well, under $8.00 (serously!) If you, like myself, have not yet purchased her other books, this deal can’t be beat. I don’t know how long the price will last, as I just stumbled on it when browsing through my wish list. Thought I might help out other price saavy bakers out there.

    Here’s the link:

  7. All I would like to say is that I graciously thank those that sponsor this group and volunteer to host each recipe. It is a small thing to follow simple guidelines in order to cook & learn with this amazing community of folks that love to cook & bake. Even though I tend to be late with my posts- it’s easy- post on or after the designated Tuesday in whatever time zone you live in.

  8. Just wondering if there’s a TWD blogroll here that I’m missing? I loved having it in one of the sidebars in the old TWD. I could scroll down and see all the bakers blog links and click on my favorites or just go down the entire list. If I couldn’t get to all of them in one sitting — and who can with 400 members? — I could go back where I left off the next day. This is confusing with all the posts, especially when there are replies mixed in and I lose my place, so I know I’m missing a lot of entries. Not trying to make more work for you, and I know it’s a lot for two people with crazy busy lives to create such a list, but is there any chance this might be in the works sometime?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

