P&Q: Mocha Brownie Cake

Any questions?  Any advice?

17 thoughts on “P&Q: Mocha Brownie Cake

  1. I am not planning on baking the whole recipe, however the 5 eggs for the cake totally through me off. Any ideas how to divide the ingredients without using sophisticated math formulas? Thanks!

  2. I made the whole recipe. It was a challenge to cut the 9-inch cake into three layers, but it made a beautiful cake.

    Be careful not to over bake it. When the timer went off, the tester was still coming out gooey. 4 minutes later, it was clean, but a little over baked. It was still a very tasty cake.

  3. I made split the batter into 2 x 9in cake pans and then baked for 30 minutes. Of COURSE neither cake would come out of its pan after the 20-minute cool down. I was kicking myself for not laying down some parchment paper but I was trying to be good by following the recipe to a T.
    I eventually got the cake out but wrapping a wet, wrung-out dish towel around the pan and jiggled it to and fro until it was loose enough to come out. Luckily, it came out in one piece. Whew!

    • I baked all the batter in an 8 inch cake pan, and it’s tall and beautiful. It’s cooling now, and I’ll cut it in thirds and spread with Nutella instead of the ganache. I have no cream……and no desire to go to the store for one item. ;)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

