P&Q Arborio Rice Pudding

Ask away …

80 thoughts on “P&Q Arborio Rice Pudding

  1. Because I know CB is going to try to ask even though I already gave her the answer …. If you can’t find rice that says arborio then look for risotto rice. They’re the same

  2. I blame the grocery store. I actually have 2 bags of it at home one says risotto, the other says Aborio. It can be very confusing if you don’t make risotto … speaking of which … you NEED to make risotto. mmmm soo good

  3. The pudding turned out well for me eventually. I had to cook it for a lot longer than the half an hour Dorie suggests. I found her instructions a little confusing, but maybe that’s just because I’m inexperienced with rice pudding.

  4. Mine was way too thin – the recipe said not to worry because it would thicken in the fridge…but I guess I should have worried! The rice is tender, so I’m not sure how to know when it’s done cooking. It didn’t make sense to me that 80-90% of the milk would be absorbed. Doesn’t that mean the liquid would be only 10-20% of what you started with? That seems pretty low. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to try again before Tuesday, but I’ll be interested to get some tips.

  5. Now this might be stretching it…but I like to think of myself as a healthy kinda gal (ljust ook at my chocolate laden blog)…so….

    Who supports the idea of Brown Rice?!

    #1 it will definitely maintain it’s texture…

  6. Jill – That exactly what I was thinking. I ended up cooking it for probably 45-60 minutes total, and by then, it was actually pudding-like. The liquid did get mostly absorbed.

  7. Eunice.. i was thinking of using brown rice too! I don’t have arborio or risotto rice, just long grain jasmine, which I’m sure will cook down to mush if I used that for the pudding.

  8. Hi, Jill,was that you secretly in the kitchen with me when I was cooking mine? :) I had the same experience – much less than 80% of the milk was absorbed and mine never seemed to thicken even in the fridge, I don’t know, the last two recipes haven’t been cooperating…

  9. I haven’t made mine yet. I am going through the first anniversary of moving away from NC and I’ve been missing my family, I haven’t seen them in a year, so I haven’t posted the last two weeks. I’m better now.

    I did buy the arborio rice, but I could only find it in a 2.5 lb bag, so, I guess I will have to practice making risotto. I’ve never made risotto before, now seems like a good time to start.

    What are the thoughts on flavor, chocolate, vanilla, some of both? I’ve never even tasted rice pudding, so I have NO idea.

    Happy to be back in the “groove.”

  10. I made mine following the directions exactly and it was really runny, kind of like cooked rice in flavored milk, even after the time in the fridge. It was still tasty and I like the idea of arborio rice pudding, I think I will have to try it again with a different cooking time/method.

  11. I had to make two batches to get it right, so for anyone who is wondering…
    The first time I followed directions exactly, and had some stuff to put down the garbage disposal.
    I increased the rice by just a little bit (maybe another 2 Tbs) and reduced the milk by 1/4 c. (Actually, I ran out after the first batch so that’s all I had left) and I cooked it for an hour. This time, I got pudding, and not chocolate milk with squishy rice :)
    http://www.erinseasyeats.com

  12. I LOVED this recipe! I cooked mine for about 45 minutes, bubbling the whole time, and the texture was perfect. (It definitely would not have been done at 30 minutes.) I did half chocolate and half plain. Both were good, but I actually preferred the plain better (!!) which almost NEVER happens. The chocolate one was so rich, I kind of liked the simplicity of just the vanilla flavor. I also think a little lemon zest would be delicious. A+ from me!

  13. I think I will pass on this weeks recipe; it’s my first miss since I joined. I don’t like rice pudding and it seems there are problems with this recipe. After the Kugelhopf (a disappointment for me) I think I will make something I know will turn out and want to eat.

  14. Seriously, if you just cook the pudding for a lot longer, it’ll thicken. Just cook it until it looks like pudding. I had my doubts about the rice to liquid ratio as well, but eventually it thickened.

    Actually, I took it off the stove after 30 minutes of cooking, and when it didn’t thicken after refrigeration, I ended up putting it back on the stove and cooking it for another 30 minutes or so. It eventually turned into pudding.

    I made half chocolate and half plain and liked the chocolate more.

  15. 30 minutes on low might be the most far off time instruction I’ve had since joining TWD. Might just be my oven. After 30 minutes on low, mine was as thin as when I put it in the pan. Then I turned it up to medium low — not sure about the time, but AT LEAST 20 more minutes, maybe more — and I still ended up with liquid pudding. I can’t try it again until Sunday, but I am probably going to reduce the milk some and be prepared to cook it as long as it takes to start really looking visibly thickened. I will check back here for sure before I attempt round 2!

  16. I made this yesterday and it sounds like the same story Jill, Andrea and Cathy have. I had it on low for about 40 min. It seemed to thicken up some so I put it in the fridge for the night. WEll…..I just checked it and its rice soup. Im wondering if I boil it like Briget did for another 30 min. it would turn out. Im sure not making it again. I don’t buy whole milk and that would be another trip to the store.
    I did find the arbori rice at Fred Meyer. I guess I will make risotto with the rest.

  17. Thanks Jill, I plan on it!
    I did follow Bridget’s example and put my pudding back on the stove top with chocolate in it and boiled it for 10 min. It thickened up very nice and it’s pudding! From start to finish this recipe has taken me about 14 hours!

  18. Started reading comments here and realized I needed to carefully re-read Dories recipe. It crossed my mind that 1/4 of Arborio rice “sounded” like such a small amount. I know its rice…. so I pulled other books.

    1. Chocolate Desserts by Pierre Herme (co-authored by Dorie)
    I remembered the chocolate rice pudding recipe next to my fav chocolate mousse recipe he he . There is no par-boiling in his recipe. Virtually the rice is cooked “ever so slightly al dente”. I’m wondering if Dorie wanted her rice to be a little softer. Hence the par-boiling and the amout of whole milk.
    In PH’s book the amount of Arborio rice is 1/2 cup rather than 1/4 cup and the whole milk is 3 3/4 cups whole milk as compared to 3 1/4.
    The milk, rice, sugar, salt are all brought to a boil under a watchful eye, stirring frequently then the temperature is lowered so that the milk is at a slow steady simmer. Stirring now and then. allowing to simmer for 12 to 15 minutes. Remember, Dorie may have written her recipe for a different texture in her Arborio rice. I haven’t made mine yet so I am excited to see what happens. I love how we can compare notes here. Really so neat.
    PS I saw Arborio rice at Wally World yesterday too. Yippee
    I may try both recipes and see what kind of texture difference they yield. That would be interesting. I was fascinated with the parboiling step.
    Hope this doesn’t muddy the waters. Just offering a comparison. Happy ricing :*)

  19. I’ve had a lot of issues with the recipes I’ve tried so far from Dorie’s book. The rice pudding turned out as rice soup. The pumpkin muffins, chocolate cupcakes, and now this have been less than desirable. It’s starting to make me wonder…

  20. Oh how I wish I’d seen this earlier. I’m traveling in Southeast Asia without a steady internet connection, so I didn’t see that you”re all making the rice pudding until a minute ago.

    There’s a fatal typo in the recipe — the pudding needs to cook for 55 minutes, NOT 35 minutes. I posted this somewhere a while ago and am so sorry that I didn’t post it here sooner.

    I know some of you had soupy rice instead of pudding and I’m deeply sorry.

    With apologies — Dorie

  21. Re: Which kind of rice to use….

    You must use risotto rice because of the starch content, to end up with a creamy texture. Brown or jasmine rice won’t work, just as those rices won’t work if you make risotto.

    Thanks, Dorie, for your comment. I am making the rice pudding today, so that’s good to know.

    Kelly
    Sounding My Barbaric Gulp
    http://www.barbaricgulp.com

  22. I don’t think there’s a published errata list for this book, unfortunately. Generally, I’ll just google a recipe before making it and get some blogger reactions to see if a recipe might be a problem. My rice pudding thickened up quite nicely, although I didn’t really pay attention to time, just to the consistency. It was definitely a looser pudding than the rice puddings I’ve had before.

  23. I was a little worried about the pudding thickening up too. I cooked mine about 45 min instead of the 30 and it looked as runny as usual cooked pudding looks. I haven’t tried the final product yet, so I guess the “proof is in the pudding!” (Haha!)

    I was thinking when she had chocolate as a alternative – “why would anyone want to mess up the flavor of rice pudding with chocolate?” And then I tasted it with chocolate – warm from the pan and it is so creamy and delish! I can hardly wait for them to cool in the fridge! I thought this was an incredibly easy recipe!

  24. phew..thankfully I saw this in time–well almost. I had my (very soupy) rice in the fridge for about 5-10 min, started reading these posts and saw Dorie’s comment on the time–and ran back to the kitchen, dumped it all back into a pot on the stove, and gave it another 20+min! I am a HUGE fan of rice pudding..I so hope it comes out alright..I tasted it a few times and it certainly tastes amazing, now I just hope the consistency is right….I’ve got high hopes for this one…

  25. I’m in the process of making mine now. At the end of 30 minutes my “rice pudding” was more like rice soup so I put it back on the burner and set the timer for another 10 minutes… and then raced over here to read the P&Q. Boy am I glad I did – I’ll add another 15 minutes to the timer.

  26. How cool that Dorie, THE Dorie, responded on our little message board thingy!! I am kind of awestruck that she even knows we exist. :)

    I am going to try the recipe exactly as it’s written, except for cooking it for 55 minutes.

  27. Thanks so much for the heads up Dorie and keeping an eye out for us while you are traveling with The Kid. :) You’re the best! I am looking forward to making this tomorrow.

  28. Bubbling away. I simmered instead of bubbled. Oops. And yes after 50 60 minutes it is runny. We will see in the morning. If anyone doesn’t think they need arborio rice, think again. Risotto is like OMG good and very versatile.

  29. i went to sleep for the last 10 minutes and it burnt on me. man. i cant bear to make another one!!! it looks alright but it TASTES burnt! I wonder how i can disguise it…

  30. So thanks to all my fellow TWD, I was able to learn from you all and avoid soupy rice pudding. I used just shy of 1/2 cup of arborio rice (which is NOT in short supply here in Italy! It’s at every grocery store.) instead of the called for 1/4 cup. I used the same amount of milk (3 1/4 cups) and after about 35-40 minutes, had the perfect consistency. About 90% absorbed. I went with the suggestions on the side. I clipped up dried apricots, covered them in Disaronno amaretto. I zapped them in the microwave about 30 secs, and that helped soften them. I also added about 1 tsp of vanilla. It was delicious warm going into the refridge, so I hope it will come out just as good in the a.m. I’ll post the results tomorrow. Good luck everyone!

  31. Jamie, I ended up with three fairly modest servings – from a full recipe.

    So, here’s what I did:
    Used a heaping 1/4 c rice (maybe an extra tablespoon) It was still less than 1/3 cup. I cut the milk by a tiny bit – just under 3 c. I infused the milk with some cardamom pods and lime zest while it came to a boil. I cooked the rice/milk for about 58 minutes, and it got pretty thick in the pan. So I wish I’d used the recipe proportions and cooked for 55 minutes. I think it would have been perfect.

    It tastes great – I like the vanilla better than the chocolate. I was pretty surprised at the small quantitiy it yielded.
    Nancy

  32. eunice – same thing happened to me! I walked away for a few minutes and came back to a scalded pot. My apartment does not smell that great at the moment. Wish I would have read the latest P&Qs before I started. I turned the heat up a tiny bit when it was still runny at 35 minutes. Big mistake! Not sure if I’ll get a chance to make another batch since I’m out of rice.

  33. Well, I learned today that I should read these postings after I read the recipe, and before I start baking. I followed the instructions and thought,mmm a little thin, but let’s see what happens after 6 hrs in the fridge. It tasted good, both vanilla and chocolate, and yes lit ooked like rice soup. But you know, I LOVE rice pudding, so I am looking forward to the second round tomarrow night after work.
    Kevin

  34. I made this today. I followed the suggestion of a few people and used just under 1/2 cup of arborio rice. I cooked the mixture over low heat for about 45 minutes, then cranked the heat up a little more to medium for 5 minutes and got a FANTASTIC consistency. I divided the pudding and made one bowl black by using 1 oz. grated semi sweet chocolate. I put the 1 1/2 t. of vanilla and a pinch of cinnamon in the other bowl. They’re chilling in the fridge overnight, however, I did sneak a taste while both were still warm…oh my, I can’t wait for tomorrow!

  35. This is the first time I have ever made or tasted rice pudding of any kind ( may sound strange, but true!). I followed the directions exactly, but the pudding did not thicken that much after a whole night in the fridge. I made half chocolate and half vanilla- no one here was really thrilled about the texture or the taste. I’ll take cakes or cookies anytime!

  36. I’m so glad I checked in before I decided to make this. Thank you to everyone for sharing your experiences so far…and to Dorie for stopping in to make that correction. I will be making this tomorrow night after work – I’m excited to give it a try. I’ve made plenty of pudding but never rice pudding!

  37. I cooked mine for maybe 40 minutes, but only because I forgot to set my kitchen timer, and the pudding turned out great. It was the first time I made rice pudding and the husband and I both really enjoyed it.

  38. I might have missed this, but did anyone put raisins in their pudding?
    My taste testers requested raisins… but i wouldnt add the chocolate then…
    any one else put anything different in theirs?

  39. This is my FIRST TWD …and I am learning the ropes…and didnt realize there was a Q&A. I ended up with rice soup too and was wondering what on earth I did wrong…its back on the cook top…hopefully this works and I can post tomorrow!

  40. My second TWD adventure and another success! I tweaked the recipe just a bit…added soaked raisins and a few grates of fresh nutmeg. I was also glad that Dorie posted the correction here on the timing….my milk was all absorbed and pudding was nice and thick at 55 minutes! Can’t wait to post my photos and results on my blog tommorow.

  41. Pingback: TWD: (Failed) Rice Pudding | Joanna’s World

  42. Just want to post a quick “thank you!” to everyone who takes the time to post on the week’s recipe link for what works for them and what doesn’t for each recipe.

    I had trouble with this week’s recipe but after reading over all of these tips and tricks, I was able to save my pudding and it turned out great. :)

    So…Thanks Everyone!!

  43. I’m glad that I hopped over here- I just pulled my rice pudding out of the fridge, dumped it back in the pan and added a bit more rice. This will delay my posting until tonight but I am really glad that I read this in time. I was just thinking how easy this was and how silly that I have bought rice pudding if it’s this easy.

  44. I did not even know that the rice was not thick enough if you stopped at 35 min. I thought it was fine, because that is how traditional Mexican Rice Pudding looks. Did anyone else think the same? or was it just me :-)
    I will try 55 min next time. It looks great thick like that, too.

  45. Pingback: Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Rice Pudding

  46. Cooking right now – glad I checked here – will let it cook longer. I LOVE rice pudding – can’t wait til tomorrow so I can eat it for breakfast! YUM. Laurie – sorry you don’t like rice pudding, your cake looks great

  47. 2nd time for Arborio Rice Pudding definately a charm! So I increased the Arborio rice from 1/4 to 1/2 cup and cooking time to 55 min. Came out much better! Only made the vanilla version, which after 24 hrs in the fridge was quite tasty. My problem was the growing bubble of milk skin as it was slowly bubbling away. I had to keep stiring every few minutes so it wouldn’t get huge. See blog for photo. Did anyone else have this problem?

  48. Pingback: Chocoholic Anonymous » Blog Archive » TWD: Arborio Rice Pudding

  49. I’m not sure how mine thickened, but it did…with 1/4 c rice and burnt the bottom. I salvaged it, but it did taste rather awful! i’m a little scared of the recipe now, and have a phobia that it’s overwhelmingly sweet and rich. anyone have any comments on the sweetness level? i somehow think a little salt would be dandy!

    what do you guys think?

  50. Don’t rinse the rice! To thicken, this pudding needs starch. (And it would be a crying shame (as it has been some of you) to rinse away all that beautiful starch.)

    My rice/milk/sugar concoction is on the stove right now and thickening up nicely after 30 minutes because (1) I used 1/2 cup of rice, (2) didn’t rinse the rice after cooking it, (3) didn’t rinse out the pot before adding the milk, and (3) gave it lots of loving attention by stirring frequently and keeping an eye on the heat.

    Really.

  51. I’m new at this…. but I was so excited when I got the email. I wanted to make it right away but had company and had to wait until that evening. Well…. my rice had bugs. Yuck. So first thing yesterday morning I went to the store to buy some more. I decided to buy it from the bulk bin from Kroger. (I figured, buy as much as I need and it won’t get bugs ) I can tell you this, all arborio rice isn’t the same. Usually when I make risotto it takes a long time to soften the rice. Well, this rice was softened completely with the parboiling. I went ahead with the recipe and my suspicions were confirmed. The rice had already absorbed the liquid. I am going back today to get some real arborio rice, because the rice soup was so yummy.

  52. always i used to read smaller articles or reviews which also clear their motive, and
    that is also happening with this article which I am reading at this time.

Leave a Reply

