OSI: Jayne of The Barefoot Kitchen Witch

coconut-butter-thins

If you haven’t been to The Barefoot Kitchen Witch yet, you’re in for a real treat! Jayne’s blog is a mix of food, fun & family, and not necessarily in that order! Oh, and then there’s the Random Generator cats, Scratchy & Softie, that help pick the winning numbers for her giveaways! Add Jayne’s lean, mean baking machine kids and taste testers into the mix, and you’ve got one very eclectic blog! Jayne loves the How-To method of teaching the current recipe, be it homemade mozzarella or something her husband catches from the sea, and everything is no doubt delicious!

Jayne chose Coconut Butter Thins this week. Julia put on her own apron, while Mom tied back her hair. She helped bake the beautiful cookies and narrated the whole process. Jayne, when is Julia’s new cookbook due out? We all want a copy! Go check out Jayne’s blog, The Barefoot Kitchen Witch. Her photography will amaze you, and you’ll wonder how she does it all. Personally? I think her little helpers do all the baking, and she takes the pictures!

blueberry-crumb-cake


1. When did you start baking?

When I was very young. My mom used to use the top of the freestanding dishwasher as a work area (it had a huge wooden top) in the kitchen, especially when she was making bread or pies or cookies. I remember standing on a chair so I could work on that surface, too. She’d give me a bit of pie dough and I’d roll it out with my little rolling pin and make a little pie and probably a big mess to go with it.

2. What is your favorite kitchen tool?

Only one? Oy. Well, my most recent favorite tool would be my 12-cup KA food processor. She’s fabulous. (Has to be a she – she’s very pink.) Runners-up would be my two KA stand mixers. Yes, two. If I had a bigger kitchen and gobs of money, I’d have one in every color. It’s a sickness.

blueberry-ice-cream1

3. Which TWD blog is your favorite?

Oh, there is no one favorite. Who could pick just one? I don’t visit them all as often as I’d like to, but a couple favorites are Di’s Kitchen Notebook, and Phe/MOM/enon. Really, though, I think the whole TWD group is fabulous.

4. What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Probably the French Lemon Cream Tart or the Ricotta and Polenta Cake. Depending on my mood.

lemon-tart

5. What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

The Arborio Rice Pudding. I called a Puddle instead of a pudding.

6. Which recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

Really, I’m not dying for any one in particular. I figure we’ll get to them all eventually, and if there was one I was dying to make, I’d go ahead and make it now. I should probably focus more on the recipes I haven’t made yet and go back and do them.

dimply-plum-cake1

7. If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?

Again with the “only one?” style of question. Don’t you know I can’t make decisions??? My first thought was Italy, so I’ll go with that. But really, I have about oh, ten more places right behind it. Or, you know what? I’d like to spend a year just traveling around the US. I’ve always wanted to – to see EVERYTHING out there, and to try out all the local food, take tons of pictures, go to all the zoos with my kids…that’s my answer. Italy is now second.

8. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?

I’d open a little store and sell all the different kinds of things that I like to make – food, art, jewelry, quilts, and so on, all in one place. And in one portion of the store there’d be a kitchen, and the other end would be a food-free work area for all my other creative pursuits. That way people could see all the works in progress. It would sort of be like my home is now, only tidier.

florida-pie

9. If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?

Who says I don’t have one? What I’d really like to have would be a maid to do the cleaning and the laundry and leave me to do the important save-the-world stuff.

10. If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?

I’d go have coffee early in the morning with my sister…then walk the sea wall and the beach in Narragansett…maybe hang out in a book store for a couple of hours. Or head off to a winery with my husband (I know that doesn’t exactly count in the “to yourself” department, but it wouldn’t be as much fun without him) and take our time sampling the wines…maybe bring along some good bread and good cheese.

kugelhopf


11. What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?

Hmm. I guess uni (sea urchin) and ankimo (monkfish liver) might seem strange…I’ve eaten calf’s heart…frogs’ legs…chicken feet…I really don’t think I’ve had anything really over the top strange compared, say, to Andrew Zimmern or Anthony Bourdain. I’ll try anything.

12. What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?

A 20-quart Hobart stand mixer. First, of course, I’d need to bump out a wall in the kitchen to make a bit of room for it….

pear-tart

13. Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

Creative, nurturing, intuitive.

14. What spice do you use over and over again?

Black pepper. And cinnamon.

15. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A food blogger. I just had to wait for Al Gore to come along and invent the internet.

ricotta-polenta-cake

5 thoughts on “OSI: Jayne of The Barefoot Kitchen Witch

  1. Narragansett? Did you say Naragansett? OMG I grew up in RI and we go to Narragansett every year. I love it. Can you say Lobsta Salad? Steamers? Ah….

    BTW Love your stuff!

  2. what gorgeous pictures. i just called my husband over to look at them and he agrees. so wonderful. and i really like what you’d do on your day to yourself. of course, you’re right, the winery visit wouldn’t be nearly as much fun without your husband

Leave a Reply

