OSI: Kelly of Baking with the Boys

Mango Bread1

This week it’s time to get to know Kelly from Baking with the Boys. In addition to her love of baking with  TWD, Kelly is also involved with Barefoot Bloggers and You Want Pies with That? Kelly says in her bio, “I am a married thirty-something mother of two great boys, six and three, in Kansas City.  I work full-time outside the house but love to get my kids in the kitchen with me.”   Take a look at some of her posts.  She’s a very busy girl and has time to bake and blog too!

Kelly selected Fresh Mango Bread for this week’s TWD post. It looks really yummy as does all her other goodies! I couldn’t help but stare in amazement at a picture Kelly took of Dorie’s Custard in thermal. How cool is that? So, let’s all go check out Baking with the Boys this week, and give Kelly some TWD love!

Custard

1.  When did you start baking?

I baked a lot of tollhouse cookies with my mom as a child but I didn’t really start baking or cooking on my own until law school.

2.  What is your favorite kitchen tool?
My KitchenAid and my nesting bowls.

3.  Which TWD blog is your favorite?
I don’t have one favorite.  I really appreciate the people who bake every week.


4.  What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?
There are a lot to choose from:  Big Bill’s Carrot Cake, Chocolate Chunkers, Tall and Creamy Cheesecake, Quintuple Chocolate Brownies, Summer Galette…

5.  What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

The Arborio Rice Pudding and I didn’t get along so well.

Creamy Cheesecake1
6.  Which recipe are you dieing to make that no one has picked yet?
There are a lot that are intriguing…but the Lime Cream Meringue Pie because I love meringue pies and the Chocolate Souffle because I have never tried one before stand out.

7.  If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?
On a tropical island with my family — a bit of contrast to the Midwest!

8. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?
Bakeries open far too early (and I don’t have the skills) so strike that.  I would love to take my husband and kids on a trip around the world. I also have this fantasy that I own a particular local ice cream parlour that closes for three months every winter.  Maybe I could spend those months on my island.

9.  If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?
Heal the sick, no question.

10.  If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?
I would probably try that Chocolate Souffle.  I am embarrassed to say that almost every single picture I have is loose in a box or in various cabinets.  No albums, barely a baby book.  It makes me anxious to think about so I would probably sit down and organize them all.

Brownies
11.  What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?
Hmmm…I became a vegetarian in my early twenties (many moons ago).  I think I missed a lot of opportunities for cow intestines and the like.  I did have octopus as a child.  Not my fave.

12.  What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?
Well, I am over ten years out from my wedding.  Can I re-register to replace everything that has been broken or lost?  I don’t know how but I think we are down to four forks.

13.  Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

Optimistic, easy-going, scatterbrained.

14.  What spice do you use over and over again?
Baking: cinnamon; Cooking: a fajita hickory spice blend from a place in Wichita.  I make my dad pick it up whenever he is there on business.  I don’t know what they put in it but it makes vegetables sing.

15.  When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Which year?  Dancer, actress, astronaut, gymnast, mystery author but always, always a singer.


One thought on “OSI: Kelly of Baking with the Boys

  1. Pingback: TWD: a little Chocolate Souffle « Baking with the Boys

Leave a Reply

