P&Q Parisian Apple Tartlet

Break it down now…

57 thoughts on “P&Q Parisian Apple Tartlet

  1. I have Barbara and I used this for this recipe whcih I made last night. It worked really well and the apple tart was far more delicious than I thought it was going to be!

  2. I made this yesterday since this week is going to be super busy.

    I was surprised at how good it was. I was thinking it would be kind of plain. On first tasting, I thought “hmmm, warm, soft apples” and wasn’t too excited, but then when combined with the pastry, which is caramely and flaky… it’s transformed. It was even more delish in the spots where the caramel ran over and baked into the crust.

    One comment… my apples were bare on top by the end of baking time. As a fix (and really, for more interesting photos), I drizzled some store-bought caramel on top.

  3. I really want to use the puff pastry recommended in the book: Dufour. I found it, but it’s $10.99. I’m having a hard time justifying the expense. Any thoughts?

    • Amy, have you checked the library? Or maybe Amazon sellers with a used copy? Of course, then you would have to wait for shipment. I would suggest the library :)

      • Hi Amanda,

        Sorry, the way I wrote my question was confusing. I mean the brand of puff pastry that Dorie recommends, Dufour, sells for $10.99 in my neck of the woods. I do have a Trader Joe’s, as Steph recommended below, so either I’ll go that route or make my own!

      • I’ve used Dufour, and I’ve used Pepperidge Farm, and my family actually liked the Pepperidge Farm one better. I did not think there was enough of a taste difference to continue paying the Dufour price in the future. I find that brand at Whole Foods.

    • amy– do you have a trader joe’s near you? they sell an all butter puff, which is good and only costs a few bucks. that’s what i used. or you could go the homemade blitz puff route if you felt like tackling a few extra steps.

  4. Would anyone like to share their homemade puff pastry recipe? I found one on recipezaar and made it last night (the dough) but haven’t actually made the tartlet, so I’m not sure how it’ll turn out.
    The recipe I used had 1 1/2 cups of flour, two sticks of butter and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I did mix it in the food processor, just to cut the butter in, then rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper. I refrigerated it til firm, then folded it and rolled it again.
    I’m hoping I will actually end up with flaky layers!

  5. I’ve bought some Pepperidge Farm puff pastry – I hope it’s going to be nice. Really I’d like to have a bash at making my own but am going away for the weekend so I just won’t have the time. I have never used puff pastry before – can anyone advise if it can be formed into standard size muffin cups – I’d love to make mini’s. How long do you think they will take to bake? Thanks ever helpful bakers!

  6. Jennifer, This sounds interesting. I live in a warm climate, so this might work for me. I checked on recipezaar and there were many puff pastry recipes. Did you happen to note the recipe # or what are the other ingredients. Thanks, lola

  7. Jennifer and other bakers. I found the Quick and Easy Puff Pastry #31504. I am going to try it. We’ll see how it goes. Thanks for your input. lola

    • Iola,
      Oooppss, I guess I should have kept reading the P&Q before I responded above! Yep, that is the same recipe. Mine has been rolled and is in the fridge. I’m hoping to make it for dessert tonight. That way, if it doesn’t turn out good I should have time to make the recipe again, using store-bought puff pastry, if necessary.

  8. I saw some comments about the Dufour puff pastry. I have some and it IS expensive (I didn’t have any other options the day I purchased it). However, I’ve found that it stretches. I got 4 turnovers out of 1/2 of a package. I’m going to use the other 1/2 for this recipe. So, it’s expensive but I felt like I could stretch the box to make it go a little farther than other frozen puff pastry.

    Anyone using peaches? I saw it as an option in “playing around” and I think that’s the route I’m going to take.

  9. I made my tartlets a little bit smaller than recommended, maybe 3′ each and got 12 with leftover puff pastry. I used Pepperidge Farm and it worked well.
    I made apple, peach, plum, pear,and mango varieties and the most popular were the peach and plum. Peaches are definitely a very good option in this recipe, especially if they are nice and ripe.

  10. oh, and I tried the apricot version too. I think the apple version was the least popular for us, but the topping kind of slid off and so that made it not as yummy as the others.

  11. I bought a peach for this very purpose. I’m not overly fond of cooked apples – HATE mushy apples – but I adore cooked peaches, so hopefully they’ll turn out well.

  12. I am hoping to go the homemade puff pastry route over the next couple of days and probably do the peach version as well. I want to make them small and picnic portable so I can walk around eating them like Dorie describes.

  13. Quickest Puff Pastry is on cooksillustrated.com and was published in the March 1, 1994 issue if you have it your library. It is basic and uses a food processor. Their recipes are usually quite good and well tested. I plan on doing a comparison with this recipe and the one with sour cream. Mary Ann – how did the mango tart turn out? Thanks

  14. So I went to my Trader Joe’s for the puff pastry, and they only carry it seasonal now =(
    I’ll have a look at homemade puff pastry, ot go buy some.

    I bought (small) peaches for these, and I’m trying to get them to ripen in time (under a tea towel). So, would I cut the seed out of them, cut in half and use a half for each one?? Would I call them Parisian Peach Tartlet then?? lol

  15. For the Canadians, I found all-butter puff pastry at Superstore today for $3.29. It was in near the frozen pie crusts, and it’s the President’s Choice brand. I love PC stuff, so I’m hoping this will be good.

    One question: I have never used puff pastry before. Am I meant to use one sheet? Or do I combine a few of them?

  16. I made the tartlets last night, using a recipezaar puff pastry recipe. I was pretty pleased with the pastry, it didn’t rise as high as I would have liked, but it was tender and flaky . I was worried I might have overhandled it and afraid that it would tough, but it wasn’t, at all.
    I didn’t have a four inch circle cutter, so I used the largest cookie cutters that I have, a heart and a star, and made 3 apple and one peach. For the apple ones I did remove the peel, but I left the peel on the peach one and it turned out fine.
    I was afraid the butter/brown sugar would slide off, so I did lessened the amounts of both and sprinkled on a little cinnamon sugar and that was really good.

  17. I used the Pepperidge Farm sheets. I was too lazy to cut into circles, so I did 4″ squares. I ended up having to sprinkle some extra brown sugar on the tops toward the end of the bake time as it all slid off. LOL Overall, they were quite tasty.

  18. I forgot the puff pastry at the store and refuse to go back. Im going to either make sweet tart dough and go that route, or make pie dough and go the galette route.

  19. I made puff pastry (Baking with Julia’s recipe) and let’s say, I hope it puffs up after all that work! My arms got quite the workout! They hurt so bad today =)
    (I also bought Pepperidge Farm’s for taste testing -and incase I chickened out)
    They are baking right now. I used 1/2 a peach and sliced them with the skins.

  20. This was a huge hit for Sunday night dessert. I made my puff pastry and was worried it wouldn’t turn out but it was perfectly flaky and tender. I splurged and ate two of them. Yikes!

  21. I made the puff pastry (my first time) and my lonely single test tartlet is in the oven right now, I hope my pastry puffs!

    Hoepfully it will work and I can make a whole bunch of little tartlets with various fillings as my baking project tonight.

  22. These were wonderful. I used Gala apples and Pepperidge Farm puff pastry, and the tarts were perfect.
    I love Leslie’s idea of making peach tarts along with the honey peach ice cream from this month’s list of recipes. I’ll be trying her idea next.

  23. Mine are in the oven now. Since one sheet of Pepperidge Farm puff pastry made four 4″ circles that’s what I did. Two I did with an apple/raisin mixture and the other two were quite different involving golden kiwis and strawberries. I was sure to take BEFORE pictures so just in case they don’t bake up properly I have evidence I did attempt this week’s recipe! LOL

  24. Here’s a recipe I have for quick puff pastry. I made them tonight and they came out great. I am so pleased! Next winter I’ll try them with apple and quince…

    Quick Puff Pastry:

    10 oz of unsalted butter
    1/2 cup of cold water
    1 tsp salt
    9 oz of AP flour

    1. Cut 8 oz of butter into 1/2 to 1/4 inch cubes, place on a plate and place in the freezer while you pull the rest together.

    2. Measure water and add salt; stir to dissolve and set aside

    3. Coarsely dice remaining butter. Place flour in work bowl of food processor, fitted with the metal blade; add the 2 oz of butter and pulse until butter is absorbed – about 10-12, 1-second pulses.

    4. Add the remaining butter from the freezer and pulse once or twice to distribute. Add the water and pulse 3 or 4 times, just until dough forms a rough ball — don’t over-process.

    5. Flour your work surface and scrape dough from the work bowl. Shape dough into a rough rectangle and place between 2 pieces of plastic wrap. Press down with a rolling pin to flatten, then roll back and forth several times with the rolling pin to make a 12″ x 18-inch rectangle of dough.

    6. Peel away the plastic wrap and invert the dough to the floured work surface. Peel away the second piece of wrap. Fold dough in thirds in the width, folding the top third down and the bottom third up, to make a 4″ x 18-inch rectangle. Roll up the dough from one of the 4-inch ends, making sure to roll the end under the dough. Press the dough into a square, wrap in plastic and refrigerate 1 hour or until firm.

  25. Pingback: >TWD: Parisian Apple Tartlet (updated) « The Baking Bluefinger

Leave a Reply

