P&Q Honey Peach Ice Cream

You scream. I SCREAM. We all scream for ice cream!

75 thoughts on “P&Q Honey Peach Ice Cream

  1. I moved a while ago and cannot find my Cuisinart ice cream maker. What’s the best way to do this without one or should I just not attempt it without this appliance?

  2. I made this last weekend. It was really good- more honey then peach. If I had to make it again I would puree all of the peaches. I’m not a big fan of frozen icy fruit bits.. Ouch! otherwise a nice change.

    • Nic-I’m planning to do this as well. Dorie suggests nectarines as an option and I’m going to give this a try this weekend. I don’t like peaches. Let me know if you do this and how it turns out.

  3. Nic, how about apricots?

    I made this to go with this week’s recipe, and it was delicious, but we liked it better when it was softer. So if it’s in the freezer, I would suggest letting it sit on the counter until it softens up a bit. Much creamier that way. And the frozen peach bits weren’t quite so icy.

  4. I diced the peaches when I made the custard base, then mixed them with 1 tablespoon of vodka and put them in the fridge while the custard cooled. The alcohol keeps them from freezing completely. But, I still wasn’t excited about the peach bits. I guess I like my ice creams smooth.

  5. Oh and I used mangos instead of peaches. The honey makes it really sweet, so I would cut back. Then again, I hate honey, so maybe it was just me.

  6. Marthe: Thanks for the info and link!

    General Ice-Cream Question: I remember from previous ice-cream making attempts that the ice cream hardens to a solid (ice block) if it is not all eaten right away. Do others find the same thing? Is there anything you can do about it or do you need special preservatives to keep the ice cream at “scoopable” consistency in the freezer? Do I just have to eat the ice cream all right away? lol

    • Tianne,
      Adding alcohol to the ice cream keeps it from freezing and being super hard. I’m trying to remember the amount, maybe three tbs for an average sized batch? I’ll try to look it up in “The Perfect Scoop” when I’m at home.
      Jennifer

      • I added 1 tablespoon of vodka in with the blended peaches (I actually blended all of mine) and it froze up well. Not too hard, not too soft and it doesn’t taste like vodka, either.

        I thought this came out really good.

    • I have the KA ice cream maker attachment and have made at least a dozen different flavors of ice cream. Never have I had a problem with the ice cream hardening to a solid block. Pretty much mine have been just as scoopable as the store bought kind. If it’s a tad bit difficult to scoop I throw it in the nuker for about 8 seconds and away we go.

  7. You can use plums. I used a few in mine and it was a lovely color and the flavor was very good, too. I’ve made ice cream out of roasted plums, too. Super yum.

    If you are concerned about the ice cream being too hard, just remember that the things that keep ice cream soft and scoopable are: alcohol (not too much 1-2 tsp. is fine), sugar, and fat (egg yolks and heavy cream). The right ratio of fat and sugar will give you what you’re looking for without the alcohol. A cooked custard is much better than Philadelphia style. In the stores they pump ice cream full of air and fillers–that’s how they get away with giving you sub-par ice cream.

    My friend uses xanthan gum (available in health food stores) in her fro-yo. It prevents the ice crystals from forming to large and making it icy. You could try that here, too. Only like 1/4 or 1/8 tsp.

    Another great tip, is to save your peach pits and peels and steep them in the milk and cream for about 15-30 minutes. It gets all the possible flavor out of the peach. Just use 1/2 cup extra milk to make up for the milk that gets absorbed in the peels. Strain it through a fine mesh sieve and press on the solids.

    I love this recipe. The honey is really good with the peaches.

      • I am so happy to learn about xanthan gum! I haven’t had a lot of problems with ice cream, but I have yet to make a frozen yogurt that isn’t as hard as a rock.

      • Check at health food stores–Whole Foods, Sunflower Farmers Market, and similar store will have it in the baking section. It’s often used in gluten-free cooking, so it may even be in a regular grocery store. Bob’s Red Mill is one brand I’ve seen.

  8. I am curious…. I am new to TWD and can’t quite figure out what the “P&Q” means at the beginning of the recipe name. Can anyone help?

  9. Howdy folks. I was going to make my ice cream today but I forgot to put my canister in the freezer. Oopsies – tomorrow it is. I was thinking about adding a little bit of amaretto – I feel like it would go so well.

    Leslie, I think apricots sound wonderful, they pair so well with honey anyway.

    Out of curiosity – is anyone else using a Donvier? It’s my hand-cranked plastic ice cream maker that I love. I’d feel like I could really bond if I wasn’t the only one.

    Happy churning.

    • Yep, me! I have a hand crank Donvier I bought at a thrift store for $3.00 that I have used many times successfully! So you won’t be alone :)

      I’m still trying to decide what fruit to use though. i’m not a huge peach fan either, neither is anyone else in this family, and I don’t want it to go to waste. Plums sound wonderful, so I may go that route.

      • Amanda – I got mine at a flea market for 5 dollars. I’m super glad to hear of another.

        I replaced one tsp of vanilla extract with amaretto. Also I squeezed a lot of the juiciness out of the mix-in peaches and I think that may be why mine didn’t turn too hard in the freezer – that and the fact that I sliced them super thin.

        I really liked how his ice cream came out.

  10. I think canned peaches would work, my one worry would be sweetness. Even ones packed in juice (rather than syrup) can be rather sweet. I don’t think texture-wise it would make a difference, as you cook the peaches and then blend a portion (or all, if you wish) of them.

    I made the custard last night and it seems pretty straightforward. I did decide to blend all of the honey peach mixture and I added a TB of vodka to it. I’m hoping that’s not too much.

  11. Corn syrup also helps make ice cream more scoop-able. You can sub 2 Tbs for 1/4 cup of sugar in any ice cream recipe – it works great, esp if you don’t want to add alcohol in case any kids in the house. I know that corn syrup has a bad reputation, but it’s really not much in a whole quart. And if, like me, you avoid it in everything else, I don’t think it will do much harm.

  12. I must have pureed mine a bit more, because I didn’t end up with any frozen bits. The honey is definitely a prominent flavor. The other thing I’d note is that the recipe completely filled my 2 qt Cuisinart.

  13. I didn’t mind the frozen peach bits, but maybe I am wierd.
    Fresh peaches were far from being in season when I made this back in may, so I used some frozen peaches that we had from our tree from last year.
    I thought the flavor was really good. Probably about half of the tasters didn’t love it until about 24 hours later, when it had had more time to ripen in the freezer.
    The honey flavor was not overwhelming in mine and it was easy to scoop.

    • Farah, it’s actually much easier than I thought it would be. In fact I will be making my own ice cream more often as I picked up a cookbook only about ice cream yesterday :)

  14. I used frozen peach slices (peaches are not yet in season in New England), and the ice cream was plenty sweet. I think canned might be too sweet, but I can’t speak from experience.

  15. @CafeJohnsonia Where did you get peaches here right now that weren’t rock hard? I haven’t been able to find any yet at all. Am I just doomed up here in the SLC area?

  16. A quick note to all the frugal cooks out there. This ice cream recipe calls for egg yolks, but save the egg whites! You’ll be able to use them in the dacquoise next week (it requires eight egg whites).

    Along the lines of the amaretto suggestion, I would add that this ice cream is really good with amaretti cookies.

  17. I have my custard chilling in the fridge, and tomorrow it gets made. Can’t wait! I’m a little wary about the honey I used, though; I got some lovely local honey in Florida this March, and it tastes a little strong; I hope it doesn’t overpower the ice cream. If it does, it’s my fault.

    Also, for those of you who haven’t made ice cream before, I will share with you a tip: when the custard is done, strain it through a seive. That way, if any of the eggs curdled, the milk scalded a bit, etc., the seive will catch those bits and save them from being in your ice cream. I’m not practiced enough with making custards to skip this step, and it’s saved me more than once.

    In reference to the egg whites, I am planning on making meringue cookies with them. Mmmmmmmm.

  18. With the egg whites, you can make meringue for Baked Alaska. You already have the homemade ice cream. Just need a base (pound cake, brownie, etc) and you are set to go!

  19. My custard is just finished and waiting to cool. It would not set up properly, even tho’, alarmingly, the temp. shot to over 180 in just a few minutes. I had it on really low. Did anyone else have this problem? I even added a teasp. of cornstarch! to try to get it to set but it’s still not at all like a curd. I hope I don’t have to scratch around for another custard recipe, as Dorie’s are usually so very good.

  20. Have to say I’m not uber-impressed with this one. The honey flavor was hard to detect and the peach flavor was kind of lost too. Sure it’s nice but nothing rave-worthy.

  21. I made it last night, and this ice cream is really, really nice. I added 2 tsps of vodka, but I think next time I’d cut it down to 1; a little boozy for me. I never thought of adding honey to ice cream. Next time I might make it with strawberries.

  22. I’m making this without an ice-cream maker. My custard is in the freezer and I’m getting a little worried as it’s not freezing. Hmm.

  23. Well, if the flavor of the custard is any indication, this is going to be really good. I pureed all the peaches instead of leaving some whole. I think that’s adding to the peachyness. My custard set up really fast as well.

  24. The first day I made it it was meh, just ok. I’m going to try it again tonight and hopefully the flavors have improved. Otherwise, this will probably get tossed out.

  25. We loved this, I didn’t think my custard set up properly either, it seemed too runny, but it turned out fine after churning in the ice cream maker.

  26. Pingback: Tuesdays with Dorie: honey peach ice cream « The Berry Bushel

  27. shoot i made the dacquiouse. that’s what i get for going on vacation and not double checking what the recipe was…

    good thing ice cream is simple to make. i’m sure i’ll get it done tomorrow. :)

    • I have a Donvier which I found at a thrift store for $3.00. I looked it up online and the retail price was around $70.00! There was only one little thing wrong with it, it was missing a little washer piece near the handle. The company wanted $15 for the replacement part. I’ve made many an ice cream in it and have never needed the little washer. :)

  28. Pingback: Wealth Money Management – Can Land Banking Be Featured In An Investment Portfolio? | karakasli.net

Leave a Reply

