OSI: Tommi of Brown Interior

Hey TWD’ers.

Today’s OSI is all about Tommi of Brown Interior.

Tommi says of herself on her profile…

I spend most of my time reading, baking and cooking. I spend most of my thoughts on food and what I’m going to do the next day. I live with these two cats whose names are Sancho and Squirrel Cat. The main reason I’ve decided to blog is so that I can have the pleasure of participating in all of the wonderful food related blog events which take place here on the internet. Of course there’s also the self indulgence.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1.  When did you start baking?

My first disastrous attempts at bread and cake making came about when I was 7 or 8. I was using my only cookbook at the time – the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. After thinking that I just didn’t have the knack for it I gave up for about 10 years. Picked it up again when I turned 18 and had the good sense to buy better cookbooks and really learn a thing or two about what I was doing.

2.  What is your favorite kitchen tool?

A whisk. A smaller whisk about 10 inches long. I use it for most of the funnest things I make. Also the tortilla press. And the pasta roller.

3.  Which TWD blog is your favorite?

Shoot. Don’t make me choose, you’re all so danged entertaining.


4.  What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Just the other day I was dreaming about the chocolate banded ice cream torte. I used the ‘span’s burnt sugar ice cream. Super, just super.

5.  What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?

This one time when we were to make the double crusted blueberry pie I was deeply saddened at the fact that I had to buy blueberries because I pined for my blueberry farm days when I had buckets of the things all to myself. I waited until Tuesday morning to finally buy them and then I lied to my coworkers about why I had to go home early (to make the pie). And then when I got home I realized that I had left the blueberries at work. I can’t remember whether I slinked back to work to get them or if I just bought new ones. The pie turned out wonderfully and I ate the hell out of it by myself and loved it so I suppose it wasn’t exactly a dud. But the whole ordeal was a might bit disheartening.

6.  Which recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

I went crazy picking one recipe out of my long list of contenders. The next top choice was the apple turnover.

7.  If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?

Italy or Mexico. Either trying out the life of a vintner or a vaquera.

8. If you knew you could try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?

I’d leave the not failing part up to myself, but if money was no object I’d go to grad school and continue to study botany, then I’d continue to go to school and study library science and archiving. Then I’d sail around the southern part of the world do botanically satisfying things and archiving things. And reading books.

9.  If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?

Microscope vision. This question has spurred so many nerdy fantasies and I’m just going to leave it at that being my choice.

10.  If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?

Wake up, make coffee, squeeze a grapefruit, pet my cats, skip the shower, poach two eggs, eat them, make bread dough, pack a lunch, go picnicking, nap in the woods, go home, play music, read, watch a Clint Eastwood film, fall briefly in love with Clint Eastwood, take20a long time making dinner, eat dinner, drink wine, eat dessert, drink whiskey, read, go to sleep.

11.  What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?

Gee, I don’t know. I roasted and ate a banana slug once.

12.  What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?

A big, bitchen espresso machine. I’m pretty sure that could be a valid kitchen tool.


13.  Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.

resourceful, slick, mischievous (refer to number 11 – no I didn’t)


14.  What spice do you use over and over again?

Cumin.

15.  When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be an artist, a veterinarian, a chef and a librarian.

4 thoughts on “OSI: Tommi of Brown Interior

Leave a Reply

