P&Q: Tender Shortcakes

The possibilities seem endless with shortcakes.

Go bake ’em up.

24 thoughts on “P&Q: Tender Shortcakes

  1. I just made biscuit shortbread for my sister’s birthday. She would have none of these tender ones, so I guess we’ll have to have them here in Brooklyn.

  2. Just as a warning, these turn out HUGE – I’d almost double the number of shortcakes you portion out compared to how large Dorie has you make them. But oh my, definitely make them. SO GOOD.

  3. Caitlin is right. I made half the recipe and still managed to make 7. But they are amazing! The shortcakes are good enough to eat naked. Also, I recommend using the fork method to cut them. They are very fragile and crumbly.

  4. Yup, huge! I made 1/4 of the recipe and got five using a 1/4 cup measure. The dough was super crumbly and hard to form into biscuits, but the baked biscuits were fantastic. Good enough to eat naked, just as Valerie says. I just had one, and can’t wait to have another!

  5. I made these for the Memorial Day holiday. I thirded the recipe and got 5 huge shortcakes. Since they were so delicate, I used the fork method to split them. They are truly delicious, good enough to eat by themselves.

    • I have to agree with everyone else, these are ridiculously good! I love whipped cream and berries, but I think I’m going to wind up eating a lot of mine plain. I made 1/4 of the recipe and got 5 standard size shortcakes.

  6. I’m going to try to make these with raspberries. My local Trader Joe’s has some incredibly good ones. In fact, I bought some to make the white chocolate brownies and ended up eating all the raspberries before I even got started!

  7. I made these last night and they are awesome!! I think I even overbaked them a bit and they were still crumbly and delicious!!

    I did traditional strawberries for the fiance and cooked apples with brown sugar and cinnamon for me. Topped with the sweetened whipped cream… oh so good!

    I made 1/4 of the recipe and got 4 good sized shortcakes. I am thinking grilled pineapple and kiwi for one and cooked brown sugar peaches for the other. yum yum!

  8. I made these last night too, and got 11 good sized shortcakes using my 1/3 C. scoop. I baked them about 18 minutes. I was able to bake 6 on a tray, and the rest I kept in the freezer until their turn. The first batch was a little flatter than the chilled batch. Also, I was not able to fork split these, they just crumbled up, so I used a serrated knife and they sliced better, but still delicate. These were delicious with whipped cream and strawberries!

  9. SHORTCAKES?!?

    For some reason, I read the calendar as “shortbread” and I wasn’t very interested. Shortcakes? Awesome. Count me in! The farmers market has gorgeous strawberries right now.

    Can’t wait to try these!

  10. I always read the comments before starting since they are so valuable (it’s nice to know what you’re getting into before you start). These must be easy since no one is offering up suggestions on what went wrong. I have hope for success! I’m a bit scarred from the last thing I made (the dressy loaf cake). It was a bit of a delicious disaster for me. I could use a winner for my morale!

  11. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a good
    read. I appreciate you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

