P&Q: Peanut Butter Crisscrosses

The perfect cookie for back to school lunches. :)

Bake ’em up!

39 thoughts on “P&Q: Peanut Butter Crisscrosses

  1. I have both doughs (pb and pb/choc) resting in the fridge. my pb dough was very much on the soft side so i added a TBSP of flour and let it rest in the fridge. I hope it doesn’t ruin them.

    I can’t wait to bake these up!

  2. I just made a 1/2 batch of these, which gave me 30 cookies. I added mini chocolate chips and reduced the amount of chopped peanuts, so there would still be a few bites of the cookie without any mix-ins.

    My family really loves these!

  3. I think I would prefer these without the peanut mix-ins, but I’m worried that they may be essential to the structure of the cookie. Between the butter and the peanut butter, this dough has substantially more fat per flour than most cookie doughs. Has anyone tried leaving out the mix-ins?

  4. I made these last night. I added 1 cup chopped nuts (that’s all I had). I thought they were delicious, crisp edges and a chewy middle. Yes, they are loaded with butter/fat, I guess that’s why I like them!
    My waistline really wishes there would be a few TWD recipes I didn’t like.

  5. How long do these cookies stay fresh in a tupperware container sitting on the counter? If I made them Monday, would they still be good enough to bring to Rosh Hashanah dinner on Wednesday?

  6. I can’t wait to try these.

    But on an unrelated note, I got my copy of Around My French Table today…yippee! Looks beautiful.

    Did anyone see the cover quote from Ina Garten: “I’ll be working my way through every easy, delicious recipe.” Ina, join us!

    • I am slaving away on the new blog as we speak. Its underway. :) Hoping to have a teaser post up for you by the end of the weekend. I am soooo freaking excited about it.

  7. Did anyone else get soft cookies? When Googling this recipe, I found that everyone else who made them described them as “crisp” – mine were soft. Did I do something wrong??

  8. As far as hard versus soft, I know that when I bake my grandma’s peanut butter cookie recipe, I bake them just until they’re set, maybe 10 minutes, and they stay soft. However, I remember when my gram made them they were more dry and crunchy (gramps liked them that way, for dunking in his coffee). She baked them for 20-25 minutes.

    I don’t know if Dorie’s recipe is the same, but you might be able to control their texture with longer or shorter baking time.

    • Mine were crisp – even the ones that were only lightly browned. So if you want them softer, be sure to bake for less time. They are great! I like the chopped peanuts and I added mini chocolate chips to half of the batch.

  9. These are some of the best pb cookies I’ve ever made or eaten. I used natural peanut butter (Trader Joe’s) because that’s the only kind I keep, and my peanuts were honey roasted ones. I’m trying not to eat them all tonight. I will definitely make these again, maybe with chopped dark chocolate the next time.

    • i used natural PB, too, despite the recipe’s warning not to. it was all i had, and i didn’t feel like buying a whole jar of jif just for one recipe. i added a blob of golden syrup/corn syrup to it just to junk it up a bit! worked great.

  10. Hi All,

    Been gone a while and it is nice to be back. Peanut butter crisscrosses on Labor Day, who knew? Given it is a very cool Labor Day weekend in Minneapolis, it worked out quite well.
    The recipe went smooth. Would like to have weights for the peanut butter and chopped peanuts vs the volume measures. My first time trying to figure out a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg!
    I only made two baking trays of 12 each. My goal was to freeze the rest. Mmm, the cookie dough tasted good!
    They baked off fine. No I just have to wait for them to cool!

    Kevin

Leave a Reply

