P & Q Apple-Coconut Family Cake

What do you think?  What do you want to know?

17 thoughts on “P & Q Apple-Coconut Family Cake

  1. Mine just came out of the oven. I needed to bake mine longer as well. And it’s not as brown as I would have liked. It smells like coconut A LOT. As it’s not a flavor I like, I’ll have others taste this and report.

  2. I was kind of so-so about this one, but my family loved it. I couldn’t *taste* the coconut at all, but it added a chewy texture that I didn’t love (and I’m usually a coconut lover). I also didn’t like how the apples on top got a bit dry and tough. If I were to do it again I’d pulse the coconut in the food processor to get it in smaller pieces so it’s not so stringy, and I’d cook the apples first so they stayed moist and got golden brown. But to be honest, this one’s probably not a repeat for me.

  3. This one was pretty straightforward to bake. The coconut added chewiness (which I liked) but the flavor wasn’t particularly detectable – my coconut-hating husband had several pieces of this cake.

      • Well, I’m a coconut hater, and I just couldn’t get past the smell. I had a very small bite, and the stringiness of the coconut was more than I could handle. The rum was lovely, though. ;-) Not sure what to substitute.

  4. mine took way longer to bake (and i only made a half recipe)…it was done on the edges, but wouldn’t finish in the middle. wound up putting foil over the pan (hoping it would help trap heat in the center) for its last several minutes.

  5. This one was a bit of a fail for me: I made a quarter recipe in a 4.5-inch springform pan and it overflowed. It was totally mt fault – I knew the batter looked too high in the pan, but I went ahead and made it anyway. I don’t think I can be bothered to remake it, though.

Leave a Reply

