P & Q: Toasted Almond Scones

Mmmmm.  I can almost smell them baking already!

18 thoughts on “P & Q: Toasted Almond Scones

  1. I used sliced almonds, since that’s all I had. I also froze them right after slicing and baked them the next morning – they were done is about 21-22 min. I brushed them with a little of the heavy cream and sprinkled a little turbinado sugar (along with almond slices, to give them a little sweet kick) before baking. Took them to work and got comments like “Off the charts”! I think everyone liked them – including me. Can’t wait to see how everyone liked them (or didn’t)!

  2. I loved these scones! They baked up perfect…no dough issues at all..in fact the dough was the easiest scone dough I’ve ever worked with! I sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar on half of them! So yummy!!!

  3. so i just looked in the pantry to find that i only have 1/3 cup of whole almonds left. unless i can scale this recipe down to 1/3, i’ll probably add in some pecans.

    i would love to hear from people who did nut substitutes. :)

    • i halved the recipe and made up the difference with pecans (used almonds only to mix with the flour then the mix to fold in at the end). i skipped the almonds on top and brushed with heavy cream and sprinkled with turbinado sugar instead. they just came out of the oven and they smell fabulous!!

    • That’s actually what I like about her scone recipes – they’re definitely not “American” scones, aka super-sweet biscuits. Her cream scone recipe is freaking amazing.

  4. They were tasty, but as other people mentioned, they need to be sweeter. I even upped the sugar to 3TBLS, but 5 or 6 would have been better.

    If you eat them with jam and cream I’m sure you wouldn’t notice the lack of sweetness. But I like to eat my scones naked (the scones naked, not ME), so next time I’m using 1/3 cup sugar. Oh and some poppy seeds too!

    Carol

  5. I liked the sweetness on these (or lack of it) but I was hoping for more almond flavor. I think that using almond meal instead of grinding the almonds was the wrong choice.

  6. Made these for afternoon tea. They were delicious — not too sweet with a nice almond flavor. I used almond meal and chopped almonds, but I must admit that I eyeballed the almond flavoring. Definitely a winner.

  7. I could bring forth never appreciated why somebody has dealt so intensively with this outcome. Now give up to me full travel. Genuinely interesting your thesis. Although my West Germanic is non so adept, your text I can realise. Hold back up the Sun.

Leave a Reply

