OSI: Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles

lemon-cup-custard

This Tuesday it’s time to focus on Bridget, author of the blog, The Way the Cookie Crumbles. If you haven’t had a chance to “check her out” yet, you need to do so, and soon! She’s been with TWD just about a year now, and has really made quite an impression on the Food Blogging world with her unbelievably crisp and detailed photos. In fact, she even has a whole post devoted to Food Photography Basics. She explains in detail, and shows in photos, exactly how to take perfect pictures. I couldn’t stop reading it. I love her photo shoot set-up and bookmarked her blog for later!

About this weeks Dorie selection…Bridget chose the Lemon Cup Custard on page 387. It looks lovely and silky smooth. Bridget says it was super easy, and no butter this time! Can’t wait to have a taste! So, go take a peek at Bridget’s blog and see if you don’t agree. Her food literally jumps out at you saying, “Eat Me!”

white-out-cake

1.  When did you start baking?
I started cooking (badly) when I was eight years old.  I don’t know when I started baking, but I remember ruining a batch of Peanut Butter Blossoms when I was in high school.

2.  What is your favorite kitchen tool?
I get excited every time I get to use my stand mixer.

cookies21

3.  Which TWD blog is your favorite?
I feel guilty about this, but I actually don’t read very many blogs.  I just don’t have time!  But I always enjoy Erin’s Dinner and Dessert, because we seem to have very similar taste in recipes.  Ezra Pound Cake is very clever, and Whisk: a food blog is full of creativity.


4.  What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far?

Of course I can’t choose just one.  Some of my favorites include the Brown Sugar Apple Cheesecake, Rugelach, French Chocolate Brownies (although I made these again recently and overcooked them), Sticky Buns, the Snickery Squares, and last week’s Chocolate Whiskey Cake.

rugelach

5.  What TWD recipe has been a dud for you?
The nature of TWD is that you aren’t always baking recipes that you would choose for yourself, which means that some may not be quite to your taste.  However, whether the outcome has wowed me or not, I’ve learned something from every single recipe I’ve made with this group.  (Yes, I copped out from answering the question negatively.)

6.  Which recipe are you dying to make that no one has picked yet?

I gave the cookbook a good looking through when I was choosing my recipe, and there are so many recipes that look great!  I’m eager to try any of the brownies, the chocolate pots de creme, the split-level pudding, the cardamon spice cake, or any of the scones.

cream-brulee

7.  If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, where would it be?
It’s hard for me to choose just one.  There are a lot of places I’d like to live, especially if it’s only for a year.  Any country in western Europe would be fun.


8. If you knew could you try anything and not fail (and money was no object), what would you attempt?
All I really want is the career I’ve spent the last eight years working towards.  The closer I get to it, the more I realize how right it is for me.  I’m just waiting for the right opportunity now.

pie

9.  If you could have a superpower, which one would it be, and why?
Not sleeping, I think.  I never seem to have enough time in a day, and I hate being so tired toward the end of the evening.

10.  If you had a day to yourself, what would you do?
I’d eat all of my favorite foods, but not enough of any of them to make me feel too full.  I’d drink cappuccinos in the morning and wine in the evening.  I’d go for a walk, read some cookbooks and maybe some of a novel, and I’d bake, probably a cake.

the-way-the-cookie-crumbles

11.  What is the strangest food you have ever eaten?
I try not to be picky, but I really haven’t eaten many strange foods.  Frog’s legs, raw oysters, and rabbit are some foods I’ve eaten that are a little off the beaten path.


12.  What kitchen tool would you purchase for yourself if money were no object?
I’d love a Kitchenaid Pro-600.  I love my Artisan, but sometimes I feel like it struggles too much with bread dough.  More practically, I really need a 3-4 quart saucepan, and I’ve had my eye on All-Clad’s for a few years.

sticky-buns

13.  Give us three adjectives to describe yourself.
Smart, perfectionist, engaged (not as in getting married, but more like interested in stuff)

14.  What spice do you use over and over again?
One of my favorite spices is nutmeg.  I love how it enhances both sweet and savory foods.

15.  When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
In high school, I remember telling my dad that I wanted to be a psychologist, but I didn’t want to be in college so long.  And then I went on to spend  ten years in college, eventually getting a PhD in geology.

cookies

5 thoughts on “OSI: Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles

  1. Pingback: OSI: Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles « Tuesdays with Dorie

Leave a comment