41 thoughts on “P&Q: Brrrr-ownies

  1. I actually made these a couple of weeks ago for a friend who had just had a baby since peppermint patties are her favorite candy. I’m not particularly a huge peppermint fan but I have to say that these brownies are AWESOME. If you are on the fence with this one, but like chocolate and peppermint even just a little, don’t miss out on this one.

    • LOL – and no, she didn’t have a baby because of peppermint patties – sheesh, I really need to think when I’m typing about how I phrase things! ;)

  2. Is it ok to replace the unsweetened chocolate with unsweetened cocoa powder? Feeling a little lazy and would love to use what I have on hand!

    • 3 Tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa + 1 tablespoon butter= 1 ounce of unsweetened baking chocolate.

      But I’m not sure if the additional butter would affect the results, it might make the brownies too wet.

    • I do this routinely with brownies, and it’s fine. You can use veggie oil instead if you are worried about too buttery-ness. No need at all to go buy unsweetened chocolate (which I almost NEVER have use for aside from brownies).

  3. I made some last week and took them to my work BBQ. They were a HIT, though the mint patty just melted into the brownie. I was hoping to have little bursts of york patties throughout. I did thoroughly enjoy the peppermint flavors, though. I may try Mary’s twist using the peanut butter cups. That sounds DIVINE!!!

    • I actually just chopped some of the peppermint patties in larger pieces and they stayed in chunks – most did melt in, but if you leave some in larger pieces, it does work.

      That peanut butter cup idea is calling to me too though!

  4. YAY, I have wanted to make these for so long! Can’t wait to see how they turn out :-)

    You can’t buy York peppermint patties in the uk, so I’m just going to use some peppermint dark chocolate covered sweets. They are probably the closest thing we have to peppermint patties anyway.

  5. I made these last night, and they were delicious! My only problem was that they were super sticky and stuck to the foil-lined pan quite a bit. Who knew that peppermint patties turned into delicious glue when they melt!

    • For stuff like these brownies, I use Reynolds non-stick foil to line the pan. So far, it’s worked great with everything. I don’t use it for everything, but it’s very handy with sticky stuff.

  6. I have a Maida Heatter dessert book which has a brownie recipe using peppermint patties that I made several years ago…..Eureka I wonder if they are close? I will say they were minty and pretty darn good ladies & gentlebakers. Can’t wait to make these. Bake away!
    AmyRuth

  7. I’m looking forward to these. York Peppermint Patties seem to be hard to come by at present but tracked some down at Dylan’s Candy on 3rd Ave. and around 61st St. in New York City. Amazing place – a real candy playground.

  8. I made these last night, using the Peppermint Patty Bites, so there are blue and white polka dots spread throughout the brownies. I did find they were super sweet, so I’m cutting them into 32 pieces rather than 16.

  9. I made these and they turned out perfect. The peppermint is in little chunks all through out the brownies. You can defintely see them and taste them. They are so yummy! The recipe is super easy . I buttered my tinfoil generously on both sides and it slid right on out of the pan. This one is a keeper!

  10. Well, learn from my fail, bakers!

    I thought I was being thrifty, since the York’s were $5/bag (!!!!) and bought a pack of no-name “Thin Mint” candies.

    They oozed throughout the brownies, creating a chocolate mint mess that stuck to the generously buttered foil. Mmmm…tinfoiley brownies. YUM!

    Oh well, can’t win them all!

    So, moral of the story – stick with the Yorks!

  11. I made these today and had similar “blow out” holes and melted patties sticking to the foil. They might not be pretty, but the taste is to die for!

  12. Pingback: Brrrr-ownies

  13. Pingback: Brrrr-ownies « LA's In The Kitchen

Leave a comment