25 thoughts on “P&Q: Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes

  1. I made this quite awhile ago using rum. It’s a simple pound cake that goes with anything.

    This time around, I made it with amaretto. Even better than rum! I’m away for 2 weeks, so I’ll post the one photo when I return.

  2. I actually bought vanilla beans for this cake, I’m nervous and excited at the same time. I hope I don’t muck it up!!

    These sound too good to mess up. Wish me luck!!

  3. Anyone make a non-alcohol version yet?
    Would this recipe fill 2 mini bundt pans? I have two new mini bundts I’m anxious to use.
    Thanks for all suggestions. I learn so much from other TWD members–and I’m old.

    • I made half the recipe and it made 6 perfect mini-bundt cakes. They did bake over the center ‘bar’ but once you flip them over, it doesn’t really matter.
      Also, be sure to check on them 20 minutes into baking. Mine were done after about 25 minutes.

      One of my favourite recipes so far! :-)

    • I didn’t add any alcohol and nothing to replace it. Just vanilla bean cake and I put turbinado (coarse) sugar on the top before baking. It made a great crunchy top that everyone loved.

    • Hi Cindy, Sorry I didn’t see your question earlier. I made mine without the rum, adding the equal amount of cream to the cake and replacing the glaze with either caramel sauce or hot fudge. It was a hit. I served them on the side but next time I’d do the poking and pour over the caramel. I think it would be awesome!

  4. Yum! I’m going camping this weekend with my mother, my 8 year old, and the dog. I’ll be so ready to make this when we get back! Of course, I may skip the cake and vanilla bean and go straight to “rum-drenched”! :)

  5. I am on vacation and couldnt find anyone with rum. I went with a vanilla-lemon cake and vanilla-lemon syrup. I baked it in a tube pan, bc thats what I had available. The family loved it. I think its a keeper. :)

  6. I made the lemon version and it was amazing!! Such an amazing crumb! I’m definitely going to try the rum version at some point but this was a good alternative for my little kids!

  7. Tia, I love the raspberry idea. Alas, I am having yet another bad baking day. I forgot to put the cream in the batter! Whoops, they were already in the oven, so I will see how they turn out. When baking another recipe yesterday, my mini-bundt cakes stuck in the pan. Not pretty, but they tasted good. Tomorrow will be a better day.

Leave a comment